Let’s make Voice interaction more productive

Joseph Kurian
Voice Tech Podcast
Published in
3 min readMay 18, 2019

I have been playing with voice assistants and devices for a few years now. The excitement for me has always been the ‘Star Trek’ version of how I grew up with voice control. To have the ability to speak ‘into the air’ and have an action or actions taken is a brilliant and wondrous concept.

Having said that, my success in interactions with Voice solutions were sketchy at best. Most times it wasn’t smart enough to understand my intent, which resulted in frustration. I had to be very specific on what I said as the AI wasn’t able to keep up. When Amazon and Google came out with their products a few years ago, I knew the game would change for every day users. No matter what product they started with, their financial and intellectual firepower would eventually get us to products that brought my vision of ‘Star Trek’ closer.

I see Voice technology as the future. Where it is today reminds me of where we were with mobile over a decade ago. Yes, it is still young, immature, and frustrating at times but clearly it has the potential to transform everything we do as we interact with data, our homes, our vehicles, our work and even each other. A few years down the road, it will be in a very different place than it is today and I believe will be everywhere.

As I watch where Voice is going, one thing becomes clear. While there are many great skills in the stores and the ability to ask quick, short questions have become a standard in my house, I rarely see practical uses for work being implemented. With our company’s work in healthcare, I see more and more opportunities of how Voice can transform the interactions consumers have in managing their wellness and healthcare. Solutions can vary from the simple to complex, non-HIPAA to HIPAA(kinda) and fun to productive. This obviously extends way past healthcare which is why we created a solution that we believe makes voice interactions more productive for customers.

Build better voice apps. Get more articles & interviews from voice technology experts at voicetechpodcast.com

We launched our new patent-pending voice assistant solution, Talking Folio, last week at a conference. Talking Folio helps customers get answers to questions they have on their paperwork by asking their voice assistants the questions they have, and instantly getting answers. A better customer experience with instant answers, no support phone call frustration and a solution to the “what do I ask it?” question, an issue many users still have with their devices.

The reception has been incredibly positive, supportive and most importantly for us as a new company, deep interest. As our second start-up, it has been a significant, pleasant difference from the challenges of launching the first one :) We believe that Voice will do much more for the ordinary consumer in healthcare, financial services, retail, CPG and many other verticals than what it does today. I know the various brands, agencies, technology platforms, and users will push us to do more, create more and bring us closer to where my ‘Star Trek’ dreams lie. Talking Folio will be a part of that maturation journey and we are excited about being part of this journey.

--

--

Joseph Kurian
Voice Tech Podcast

CEO of Talking Folio/249Labs. Former Head of MarTech at a Fortune 50. Digital entrepreneur. Mentor, Facilitator. Humourist. Voice Technology is a passion.