Julie Daniel Davis
VoiceEDU
Published in
3 min readJul 17, 2023

--

CREATING A CULTURE OF AI USE FOR GOOD IN THE CLASSROOM

A Christian Approach to AI Discernment

Sometimes our biggest insights aren’t when we’re creating a presentation but when we’re telling someone about the presentation right before we’re about to do it. This is what happened to me last week.

The topic of my presentation was “ adapting our classrooms for generative AI.” I was at a Christian educator conference, and so the lens in which I was speaking, was greatly influenced by both the good and the bad that I see in the potential of using artificial intelligence.

My session was in the afternoon and at lunch it dawned on me how important it is for us to help our students critically think about when they should use AI, how they should use AI, and to what extent they should use AI. As image bearers of God, I think we need to be mindful of the value of creativity and originality. As followers of Christ we are called to be in this world, but not of it. While the world would call this an ethical response, I feel it is beyond that and more of a biblical response.

I am a firm believer that artificial intelligence will be part of the world that we live in from now on. The generative AI students have access to today is the baby- we will see more flawless AI in the future. We will wonder if that photo is real or made by AI? We will wonder is that truly a video that’s original or was it created by AI? Written words will become harder and harder to tell the difference between human-created or AI-created.

As educators, we will have to adjust. Assignments will not look like the assignments of the past. We can’t depend on a platform that promises it is going to find out if a student has used AI for an assignment. We can’t bury our heads in the sand. As someone who firmly believes in the value of teaching digital literacy, I believe there’s never been a greater time for these discussions in our classrooms. we must lead students to understand the value of original thought. We must make them understand what happens when we quit being creative and just adapt and accept. We must give them examples. We need to burden their hearts for independent thinking, deduction, and discernment.

That being said, we must also lead them to see when it makes sense to use AI. We must lead them through thought processes to help them discern when it’s OK to use AI. We must help them understand the pros and cons. What are we giving up? What are we gaining? We need to help them understand the AI will bring efficiencies, but how will they use that gained time for the kingdom of God?

There has never been a better time to help students see the value of learning. This ease of information lends itself to lazy thinkers if it is not critically considered. We live in a copy/paste world of regurgitation. Yet we are called to be like Christ- the rebel, the leader, the thought provoker. The ones whose words have remained relevant for thousands of years.

I pray that all teachers will spend intentional time discussing the value of personal thought and reflection on subjects. I pray these teachers won’t just say “don’t use AI” but set students up to use it for meaningful ways. I firmly believe educators have an important role in helping their students seek truth and beauty in the midst of easy answers.

I’ve struggled with when it seems most timely to use AI in a situation. I found myself having an internal dialogue about what feels like “cheating” and what doesn’t. For me, it seems I feel most comfortable when using AI as a jumping off place. From that internal turmoil I created these questions to ask to spur conversations forward within Christian schools and homes:

--

--

Julie Daniel Davis
VoiceEDU

I write my thoughts in order to deal with them fully. From education topics to spiritual growth...and who knows what's next?