Learning the Value of Uncomfortableness

Julie Daniel Davis
VoiceEDU
Published in
2 min readJul 18, 2023

I attended a conference last week and had the pleasure of meeting several teachers. On multiple occasions I met veteran teachers moving to new school districts where they would be teaching classes they had never taught before. They spoke of their nervousness. They spoke of their insecurities in these changes. One even said she almost didn’t take the job because of the new course she would have to teach.

As I listened, I could relate. There have been times I hesitated to do the next thing. Putting yourself out there is scary. What if you’re not good at it? What if you aren’t accepted? What if you fail? As a recovering people pleaser I struggle with these risks.

But, I believe big growth often comes through hardship. Pearls come from aggravation. Beauty from ashes. Pushing yourself to learn new things, try new things, and be open to new things keeps us from becoming stagnant and lackadaisical in both our professional and personal lives. I submit that if there is no tension towards growth we tend to just exist and wait for life to happen to us.

As I consider this upcoming school year, and the gift of these dialogues last week, I find myself asking “Where do I need to grow?”, “What areas of my life am I stagnant in?”, “What fears are controlling me from being a me that is willing to keep growing?”

There is value in being uncomfortable. It makes us see the blessings we already have. Uncomfortableness makes us take a deeper look at our current circumstances. But more importantly, uncomfortableness forces us to consider other alternatives. Whether it be physical, mental, emotional, or spiritual uncomfortableness- this spurs self-reflection and often changes.

What changes do you need to make in order to grow from the uncomfortable experience you find yourself in? Are you willing to grow from them? If not, why? What’s stagnating you? What’s causing inner strife? What fears do you need to face? How can you find the good in this moment?

I will say that all the educators I talked with that were in a worried state had already accepted the path before them. While they shared the anxiety they felt, they also shared the excitement they were feeling as well. And that’s the beautiful rub, the friction from uncomfortableness often leads to moments of peace when we accept the call put before us and decide to tackle it head on.

May you get to the other side of your uncomfortableness with courage, tenacity, and a desire for growth!

--

--

Julie Daniel Davis
VoiceEDU

I write my thoughts in order to deal with them fully. From education topics to spiritual growth...and who knows what's next?