For Grandpa

Grace Wu
Voices From The Classroom
2 min readMar 6, 2020

--

by: Grace Wu

On November 19, 2019 | 6:15 am

A life that I dearly loved,

Was suddenly gone.

How can I ever let go?

From the moment I saw you,

My eyes were filled with tears of joy.

You were always there by my side.

Like an angel, a guardian, a leader

You shine the brightest in my galaxy.

I missed all those precious moments we had.

You cared for me for so long,

What would I have done without you?

Frankly, I would just be lost.

Whenever I fell down,

You would help me get back up again.

Whenever I was sick,

You would make me feel better.

Whenever I was sad,

You would make me happy again.

Whenever I was scared,

You would always comfort me.

I can go on and on.

2 years ago,

We thought that was it best

For you to live at a nursing home.

You were so close, yet so far away.

It was like I was being blocked,

from seeing you.

I tried to visit you, but couldn’t.

The nurses constantly send you away.

Away. Away.

Off you went to the hospital.

From the moment you arrived,

To the moment you let go,

You still didn’t eat.

It was sad to see, all the muscles,

Slowly turning into bone.

They would ask you to drink,

some nutritious milk,

But you refused,

because it was too sweet.

The doctors gave us many warnings,

That you may have let go earlier.

But, you fought hard, you fought until

It was just too much for you to endure.

The feeling of you now being gone,

Is too much for me. I constantly feel

Like I’m lost. I try to stay positive,

But deep inside, I really cannot.

On November 30th,

We had your funeral.

I remember seeing you, lying peacefully

Inside the casket. We honored you with a

healthy & prosperous new life.

Giving you the wealth you deserved.

After the funeral, we had a parade,

in Chinatown.

We wanted you to see the place,

where you spent most of your time.

We sat on the top of a truck,

with a picture of you propped up.

For everyone to see.

I promise that everyone saw you.

But now, I stare at that night sky,

Waiting for you to shine

Like the star you are.

When I see you pass by,

It really warms my heart.

I know that your happy up high,

Seeing your wife face to face,

But I’m sad down low, grieving.

I miss that beautiful bright smile,

It was as sweet as candy.

I miss your face,

It was as bright as the sun.

I miss your presence,

It was the missing piece, to

My puzzle.

I love you with all my heart.

You will forever be,

the brightest star,

in my galaxy.

--

--