I am Enough

Ynavarro Sh
Voices From The Classroom
1 min readMar 6, 2020

Looking in the mirror I ask myself “why can’t I be like them”

The people who are loved.

The people who are wanted.

The people who are beautiful.

Instead

Here I am. flaws and imperfections

Weaknesses and limitations

I pray and pray that one day I will be enough for others.

Maybe they will start to notice me

Maybe they will start to like me

My friends tell me i’m crazy.

That I should cheer up

That I have so much going for me.

Yet I can’t help but feel like that’s not true

I’m just another person that people will pass through

I see others laughing and smiling everyday.

I want to be just as happy as them

I want to feel like I am there

And maybe, just maybe. One day, I will.

I find myself standing in front of the mirror again.

I try to think positively

My friends and family pop into my head

They are always there for me.

They show me love and care.

Geez, how could I be so unaware.

I am enough.

I realize that the only person who thought I wasn’t enough

Was myself.

--

--