My Life is Hard

Enzo G
Voices From The Classroom
3 min readMar 5, 2020

My life is hard

I am a high school student

And I have to study for tons of tests.

I also have heaps of homework everyday,

And school continues to stress me out.

My life is hard.

You think your life is hard?

I’m a multi-millionaire

And running so many businesses is hard.

I have to pay mountains of taxes

And my ex wife didn’t sign a prenup so she took half my money.

My life is hard.

You think your life is hard?

I am a middle class man

And I have to leave my home because of rising rent costs.

I didn’t go to college just to sit in an office, bored to death.

My life is hard.

You think your life is hard?

I’m a gay man.

And my parents disowned me for being who I am.

I deal with prejudice and homophobia everywhere I go

And getting called a “fag” humiliates me every time.

My life is hard.

You think your life is hard?

I am a kid.

And my dad beats me everyday.

My mom left us to escape my dad’s abuse

And she left me behind.

My life is hard.

You think your life is hard?

I am a single mother

And I work three jobs just so I can put a roof over my child’s head

My rent is three weeks due

And I don’t have enough money for my child’s new school supplies.

My life is hard.

You think your life is hard?

Listen up, I am a gangster.

And I have to sling drugs just to make a living.

My daddy left my mommy when I was a little

And everyday I feel like I could get shot or jumped.

My life is hard.

You think your life is hard?

I am an immigrant.

And I have to search the ends of the earth to find a job.

I came to America for opportunity and to pursue the American dream.

But I can’t even afford a cell phone.

My life is hard.

You think your life is hard?

I’m a homeless man.

I lost my job, my house, my family

And I now have to live on the streets.

I have all kinds of diseases

And I could die any day now.

My life is hard.

You think your life is hard?

I’m paralyzed.

I lost everything in a car accident

And I can’t even move anything besides my eyelids.

I miss the sound of my voice, I miss running, I miss my life.

I wish the car crash had killed me.

My life is hard.

You think your life is hard?

I am a kid in a third world country.

I have no education

And I have to drink dirty river water to live.

My family has to dumpster dive for food,

And I have diseases that we can’t afford to treat

My life is hard.

My life is hard.

I am a high school student

And I have to study for tons of tests.

I also have heaps of homework everyday,

And school continues to stress me out.

But I guess my life isn’t that bad.

--

--