Open Letter to the U.S. Allies

Raven Cheung
Voices From The Classroom
2 min readJan 11, 2018

Dear Allies of the U.S.

My name is Raven Cheung and I am a 9th Grader at Summit Shasta. In this project, I have been learning about Chemical Weapons by reading sources on the internet and nonfiction stories. Based on my research, I believe that chemical weapons should not be used even if it is necessarily needed at the time because it harm’s us and it harms the environment. I know this is true because I researched about how Syria and how they used chemicals on different countries and seeing what the chemical weapons do to the people. When I was researching about chemical weapons, I saw a quote from Thomas C. Weiss a author, he states that when chemical weapons enter a human body it causes choking and blood diseases, the author says, “Blood Agents: Blood agents include cyanogen chloride, hydrogen cyanide, and arsine. … Choking Agents: Choking agents include phosgene, chlorine, chloropicrin, and diphosgene.” You might say, that people who use chemical weapons deserves to be punished and that they are terrible. However, it is important to consider that people that use chemical weapons they could live where other people are having a hard time living and they’ve done nothing wrong.

Additionally this is important because I researched about how chemical weapons also affects the environment too. When I was researching about chemical weapons, I saw a quote from Gert G. Harigel, a publisher from Nuclear age Peace Foundation; he explains how chemical weapons make mass destructions to the environment; he says that, “The result of innovations in chemical warfare led to a broad range of different chemicals for war and domestic use but also resulted in unforeseen environmental damage. The progression of warfare and its effects on the environment continued with the invention of weapons of mass destruction.” I know what you’re thinking, that plants can just absorb the chemicals and release oxygen into the air. But, you have to consider that most plants cannot absorb the chemicals and it will result in leaving them dead.

Thus, for all these reasons, I would like to offer a solution: that chemical weapons should not be a last resort but for something else because it will effect the way we breathe. We can stop it by finding a different way because we have many different weapons that won’t harm the environment won’t kill people instantly like crossbows, rifles, pistols, and hand knives. Therefore, I implore you to never use chemical weapons because now you know what it can do to a person and to and environment. Thank you for for your time for hearing my opinion on this, you might disagree but it might make you think if you should use chemical weapons or not.

Warm Regards,

Raven :D

--

--