My Experience Learning Guitar

Albert Chang-Yoo
Voices From The Classroom
7 min readMay 16, 2019

Intro to Project

Blog Post #1

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to actually be musically talented (assuming you are not)? Well, I have. That’s why, for my project, I am going to master the guitar. Learning an instrument increases comprehension, memory abilities, coordination, and math skills. It can also help in an awkward social situation; the loud twangs of a guitar can drown out another person talking. Plus, it’s not just me benefitting from this invaluable skill, my community will also benefit. I argue that my project will not only positively affect my community, but it will ensure my community’s survival. This is because once I become an instrumental god, the masses will come and bring in millions through the tourism industry to see my birthplace and place of education. It is either this option, or by pitifully strumming some tunes, I can panhandle, maybe make a buck or two, and donate that money to charity. There are many varying situations in which I could play the guitar to benefit my community: campfire music at a boy scout retreat, impressing/scaring the elderly by playing in a senior center, or teaching others how to play. Unfortunately, I doubt any of these will happen. Realistically, I believe that learning the guitar is more of a personal journey, rather than something that will impact my community. Playing an instrument relieves stress, is a productive hobby, and unlike video games can have real-world use. My plan to complete this project is pretty simple, gain experience with the guitar; I don’t think major progress checkpoints are needed. However, these are my basic steps: 1.) Learn/Memorize basic notes, 2.) Learn/Memorize basic chords, 3.) Strengthen skills by using chords, 4.) Learn some riffs, 5.) Put riffs into songs, 6.) Go on my first tour and make millions. Though the last step is obviously a joke, I think that the other steps are also unrealistic. The only way to truly learn the guitar is consistent practice over time. I will work on this by practicing guitar for 30 minutes each day, and probably more often than not 30 minutes every other day, or 30 minutes every seven days. Consistency will be a challenge for me, however I hope to at least gain experience through this endeavor. Music has always been special to me, and I can’t wait to make some music of my own.

Overcoming Obstacles (Myself) Post

Blog Post #2

Learning guitar is like learning how to live life: it’s hard, can occasionally be awesome, and most people want to binge-watch TV instead. In order to be able to successfully play guitar, you first need to successfully handle it. Carrying it, carrying the pick, the way you strum — it all requires attention to detail. It is week 3 of the passion project, and progress is slow. I have learned very little, which is to say I have accomplished zero to none. However, I have learned the virtues of patience and practice through my various struggles of overcoming the instrumental mammoth that is “El Guitarra”.

At time my patience has been tested, mainly by myself. I have procrastinated often, more often that I have practiced guitar. A string broke on my guitar, and I had to replace it. The guitar I have was my grandfathers, and could be in better shape. I keep forgetting about this project and haven’t practiced guitar in a week. The list goes on. As for practice, well the first lesson I learned is that consistent, constant practice is at utmost importance when learning a new instrument. I learned this by practicing, then not practicing for two weeks, then realizing that I had forgotten what I had learned two weeks earlier. I must take baby steps to achieve the greater goal. Make no mistake, I know that my ambitions will not be met, but I hope that this project is only the takeoff of a lifelong experience. My expectations are this: learn the basics and nothing more. I’ll be lucky enough to play “happy birthday” by the end of May.

The “I’ve Made No Progress” Post

Blog Post #3

I am in the midst of a South American jungle. Trudging through the mud is brutal and I want to go home. But I’ve gone too far to turn back. There is only way to find what I am looking for, and it is to go deeper into the abyss. The mythological hydra stands amidst the canopy waiting for my approach. Each time I tackle off one head, two more pop up. This, this is what the guitar has created. Learning is fun!

I am very optimistic, yet complacent in the work I’ve put into learning guitar. I practiced once last week, and expect to practice either zero times or negative zero times this week. It’s funny. I actually really enjoy practicing guitar, but I can never get myself to do it because either a.) I forget or b.) I think about it for a second, then think I’d rather have some instant gratification by watching Youtube and playing video games. So, this is basically my state right now. However, I know way more then when I first started this project, and I am hopeful that this project will still be impactful. Personally, I know how to play the trumpet, from my three years spent in middle school in band. Unfortunately Shasta doesn’t have a band elective, or really any outlet to play music (music club doesn’t count). And this is very different from band. For one, we had band practice for an hour every morning, so I had more practice. For another, we had performances and participated in events, making everything seem like there was a greater purpose to it. And for another, there was a sense of community, like how we went to Great America each year. Learning guitar, alone and inconsistently so, is a far slower and more personal experience. So, while I enjoy playing guitar, it feels a little bit less of an experience then being in a band. Oh well, it’s all part of the Shasta experience.

My Speech/Ted Talk

Final Blog Post

How many people listen to music? How many people play an instrument? We’re all connected to music in one way or another. That is why I wanted to learn how to play the guitar for my passion project. The guitar has many uses: you can play solo riffs, sing while strumming chords, or simply use it to hit someone in the head. I tried to learn all those things, just need to get to the hitting part. Each week I practiced anywhere from once to twice to occasionally three times for 30 minutes. There were three resources that I used: I downloaded the app yousician, which gives bite-sized lessons for guitar beginners, I read some old handbooks that included sheet music, and I watched youtube videos and online websites. The ultimate life lesson that I learned from my whole five weeks spent on this project — something that I will take to my grave — is that the only way to accomplish a goal is to have consistence, persistence, and assistance. Hopefully you remember this since it rhymes.

First, you must always have the preservation of consistency. A consistent mindset, consistent goals, and consistency in your ability to follow through with the goal you have set are paramount in accomplishing an overall plan. For example, during this project, I was the exact opposite of consistency. In retrospect, I should have set firmer goals such as making a commitment to practicing certain days. Instead, in one week I might practice for 45 minutes for three days. The next week it might be more like 10 minutes on one day. The next week, I would strum mindlessly for fifty seconds, and call it a day. So you can see that I lacked consistent expectations and a steady mindset. And this doesn’t just apply to learning guitar. Anybody working towards a larger goal must have a consistent workframe.

Second, persistence in the face of adversity. This may seem like a cliche, or something said by every single father figure/mentor in a movie about “growing up”. However, persistence rhymes with consistance, and I have to talk about something. First, I needed to learn how to hold the guitar, which was challenging since I am left-handed but have a right-handed guitar. Then I needed to learn how to hold a pick- something I still haven’t really mastered. Strumming down came easily enough, but strumming up is still pretty difficult. But with persistent effort, I kept going. In order to keep going after the initial fun is over, you have to persist.

Finally, you will always need assistance. You see, every good Batman needs a Robin, right? In this case, I am a much cooler, guitar-playing, version of Batman. While learning guitar, I didn’t have a teacher or mentor or someone to guide me. I found that I sorely lacked the guidance that I needed to succeed. Self-teaching in any kind of subject is hard, even with the seemingly unlimited number of resources on the internet. You need a person to bend to your personal needs and struggles, whereas an online resource only gives broad terms.

To conclude, the very merry important life lessons that I have learned through my work (or lack of ) is that there are three virtues to follow when thinking about achieving a goal: Consistance, Persistence, and Assistance. Playing guitar is lifelong pursuit. For there are always new things to learn on guitar, whether it be playing on a different scale, creating a new song, or simply using better techniques. So my next goal is to finally hit somebody in the head with it. Thank You.

--

--