Progress Post (5/2/19)

Chloe Leung
Voices From The Classroom
2 min readMay 9, 2019

What is the culture of San Francisco? Even though I have lived in the Bay Area all of my life, I know little about the general ideas others have on our city. I made progress this week on my project by interviewing others in SF and each documenting of my experiences on a blog. The lesson I learned this past several weeks is that approaching others and learning about their experiences helps me by becoming confident in talking to new people.

At the beginning of this project, the partner I am doing this project and I really struggled with approaching others and gaining the confidence to speak with unfamiliar people. During this time, we were nervous and unfamiliar with talking to strangers. As we began interviewing others, we developed the confidence to talk with others. This is vital, because it allows us to be less shy and helps up become more bold while talking to unfamiliar people.

Not only did we have to gain confidence in order to talk to new people, we also have to try to stay focused and on task during this project in order to ensure that we finish this project on time. To finish this project on time, my partner and I created a new document, detailing which places we have to go on certain days, our goals, and our project plan. Even though we did this, we still struggled to find days where the both of us were available to do the project. For example, we planned to go to San Francisco during Spring Break, but my weak immune system contracted the stomach flu. Not only this, but some days we just didn’t feel like going to the city. After we procrastinated long enough, we finally made our trip to SF weeks later.

--

--