A Love Letter to Nepal

Dear Nepali Survivors,

Article 25
Voices of a Movement

--

These are messages, memories, and photographs for Nepali survivors. Symbols of our love and beacons of our hope.

After two earthquakes now, survivors are tasked with the daunting challenge of rebuilding Nepal. Whether you know someone personally affected by the earthquake or you’ve been watching it on the news, you can help make their journey seem a little less lonely.

Add a love letter of your own here. Send a message to Nepali survivors and let them know you will continue to stand in solidarity. Its a long road to recovery, but our love for Nepal will only grow stronger.

This love letter is part of Article 25's petition with Nepali youth activists to get $54 Million dollars of debt relief for Nepal. The IMF has a new fund for poor countries hit by natural disasters, but they are unwilling to offer relief to Nepal. Please take a moment to sign their petition: http://burythechains.org/nepal/

From: Anupa

I think of you.

I might be far, I might be oceans away, but I am thinking of you. We are thinking of you.

We watch rain fall in New York, not forgetting that the imminent monsoon in Nepal used to bode well for the harvest, but is now a concern for those sleeping under open skies.

We have not forgotten that the soil and sky of Nepal are responsible for our most precious memories and all we are proudest of.

That for so many of us, our whole cultural identities revolve around calling the Himalayas home. Now in the midst of turbulence, it is up to those who have called it home, even temporarily, to understand what they are doing to be supportive. Both today, tomorrow and for the next ten years. However many years are needed.

We may have left, but we know that since the 25th, nothing has been the same, and Nepal is where our hearts and souls will be for the near and far future.

We wish we were closer, but until we are together, I think of you. We think of you. We are celebrating your stories of survival, courage, bravery, ingenuity.

In every day that feels impossible or unfair, know there are so many who begin the day wondering about your well being, feeling inspired by your resilience, and ending it praying for a brighter and healthier tomorrow.

We won’t forget.

From: Mahima

To all my Nepali brothers and sisters

A 7.9 magnitude earthquake can shake our hearts but not the love we have for our country. It can destroy Nepal’s cultural heritage but not its natural beauty.

Let’s not forget that we still have our himalayas standing. Let’s not forget that we are ‘Bir’ Nepalis.

We’ve lost our brothers. We’ve lost our sisters. We’ve lost our homes. But promise me that we will never lose our hope.

The present may seem dark but I assure you that the future will look bright. Our unity, our resilience, and our perseverance will help us get our himalayan nation back.

From: Eilisha

Thank you for your resilience, strength, courage, and for showing the world what it truly means to be Nepali. I have always believed that Nepali people are the most hopeful, selfless, and valiant people and these past few weeks have demonstrated why I believe this. The heartbreak and sorrow that I am feeling to see a country I call home in devastation is lessened because of all of your courage — thank you.

I do not doubt that Nepal will be restored back to the beautiful nation it was. But in this challenge to rebuild Nepal, I hope you know that you are not alone. I am with you. Thousands more around the world are with you. And although this tragedy has shaken Nepal physically, it has not shaken the love I (and many more) feel for Nepal, the love we feel for all of you; it has only strengthen it.

Thank you.

From: Rosalind

To all of my friends in Nepal and to the survivors of the earthquake, I want to say thank you. Thank you for showing me and the rest of the world the power of hope and love, even through the most unimaginably terrible of times. While the stories of destruction and loss are strong, the stories of hope and resiliency are stronger and will become the narrative of this chapter in Nepal’s history. It is your unbreakable spirit and love for each other that will rebuild your communities to be stronger than ever before. I am deeply comforted to know that the future of Nepal is in your hands.

Please know that we are here, we will support in any way that we can and we are not going anywhere.

From: Anas Khan

My dear country Nepal and its citizens,
I know its too hard too survive there but all we got to do is ‘pray’. And I’ll also pray for you all — my family, friends and all the Nepalese.

Please be safe, stay calm and stay strong.
Jai Nepal

From: Rod Rylander in Belize

A Letter of Love

I wish to express my deepest love to all Nepalese who have been affected by the devastating results of the earthquakes. I can only imagine the emotional, mental and physical trauma you have been experiencing.

You have to come to terms with death, have to be caregivers, take care of your physical and mental states, each a trauma in itself. I admire you for reaching in and finding strengths that you probably didn’t realize you had.

Although this has been a devastating experience for you, good will also come forth as a stronger community, more loving and giving individuals, and maybe a turn back to a more simple lifestyle where marketing and propaganda has little effect on you.

I wish we could all come to your assistance but if all of us came, there would be even a bigger problem of housing and feeding everyone. Knowing my very dear Nepalese friends, I know the Nepalese people can and will create a better Nepal out of this situation. Hopefully the banks will forego debts and resources will pour into Nepal to help rebuild the infrastructure of the country.

My special love goes to Lajana and other members of Lumanti who are spearheading much of the creative rebuilding of the nation.

From: Nasima Omari

My heartfelt love to my Nepali Friends and Survivors of Nepal Earth Quick
I know you have passed very hard time dealing with the dusts of uncertainty and damages of the earth quick but I strongly believe that Nepal would overcome this natural disaster soon. And I pray a secure future for Nepal by wishing the upcoming changes be in your favor.

Please stay Strong.

From: Ayodele

SOLIDARITY!

From: Deepa

Dear All Nepali Survivors.
Everything changed, every thing gone . But our hope still there.
Be Brave and strong to build new Nepal more beautiful then before . Don’t let the greedy foxes spoil or misuse the money send for earthquake victims . I pray that- let the charities reach to the right needy victim stead of lying in the airport . Nepal will raise up again.

From: Carly

Your undying strength and perseverance at this time and always will be rewarded! those around the world are praying for you and you are not forgotten!

You have inspired me to focus on the important things in my life and learn about and help others every day. i know you are in need of much support right now, but I want to thank you and your people for the inspiration you have provided me even in your time of need.

I pray that the rest of the world keeps you in their hearts and minds. in solidarity not just now but always.

From: Bronwen

Stay strong. People of Nepal are the most beautiful and warm of heart and soul.

I, and many others, are thinking of you.

Add a love letter or take a moment to sign Nepali activists’ petition: http://burythechains.org/nepal-recovery/

--

--

Article 25
Voices of a Movement

Building a people-powered movement to fight the global health crisis—join25.org