Chris O., Army Veteran Who Served in Afghanistan on the Asymmetric Nature of Modern Conflict

Senator Michael Bennet
Voices of Colorado Veterans
2 min readNov 8, 2019

I served with the 10th Mountain Division in Afghanistan distributing humanitarian aid to people in remote villages. These types of missions felt like we were doing some good and reaching people who were in need. The Afghan children were the most interesting because they spoke a little English and were able to ask for things they wanted, like pens and pencils. They liked our pens and pencils and would always ask for all the pens we had, so in my letters home I would ask everyone to send as many pens as possible.

The asymmetrical nature of modern conflicts was the biggest challenge. It can be difficult to discern the difference between insurgents and noncombatants as the Taliban do not wear uniforms. Large groups of people can be dangerous and giving out food attracts crowds quickly. Nontraditional thinking was the key to success in that environment and required a highly developed sense of emotional intelligence. Soldiers had to be able to read body language and facial expressions quickly to thwart possible attacks.

I was raised in Colorado so naturally I would come back because my roots are here. I spent a lot of time skiing, mountain biking and backpacking before I joined the Army, so I already had a special bond with the mountain lifestyle. When I joined the Army, I desired to be in the 10th Mountain Division because of its Colorado history. I had a WWII friend who spoke very highly of the 10th Mountain’s efforts in Italy, and recommended I get to that unit.

Chris, deployed to Afghanistan with the 10th Mountain Division photographed with his Afghan interpreter, whose identity he wants to protect.

I wished Washington knew that long wars drain the spirit of the nation. If you’re going to commit U.S. forces to an overseas engagement, provide the resources and let the military professionals complete the job and bring our people home. I believe it was an honor to serve the USA in this capacity. I worked with true professionals, likes of which may never be seen in a lifetime. Their conduct would make any American proud. One time I had an Afghan interpreter friend say to me, “I wish America would take over the world… because I believe the USA would rule justly,” literally shocked at his statement, I replied “what makes you think America would rule well?” He said he’s been watching the conduct of young US soldiers in difficult situations and he believed we operated with the utmost compassion and respect.

Chris O. lives in Colorado Springs, Colorado, and served in Afghanistan

--

--