Mne Deith is part of the Royal Marine Reserves.

Reserves Day 2021: driven to join the Royal Marines

Marine Deith has managed to combine a career in finance at Legal and General with his demanding training in the Royal Marine Reserves. Here is his story

Ministry of Defence
Voices Of The Armed Forces

--

Determined to make the most of every opportunity, Marine Deith has managed to balance a busy schedule of completing a civilian graduate scheme with a career in the Royal Marine Reserves.

Mne Deith takes part in a practice run of the tarzan assault course, one of the Commando tests.
Marine Deith takes part in a practice run of the Tarzan assault course, one of the Commando tests.

Read his story below:👇

“If I could describe myself in three words, I’d say determined, ambitious and adventurous, although some people might say I’m crazy for wanting to join the Royal Marines and do a graduate scheme at the same time! In both my work and my personal life, I try to experience as much as possible, and am not afraid to trust a gut feeling.

“During my A levels, for example, I switched from English Literature to Economics halfway through the term, and then later studied Economics at York University. After graduating, I did work experience at a brokerage house, a law firm, and then shadowed someone in Legal and General Investment Management for a week. After a successful introduction to L&G, I decided to apply for the graduate scheme.

Mne Deith takes part in a mud run.
Marine Deith takes part in a mud run.

“During my graduate scheme, I wanted to try new things. I got more into fitness and started doing Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and kickboxing. At around the same time, I also started listening to a military podcast. A friend had started training in the Royal Marine Reserves and, although he didn’t finish the course, I decided to try it.

“The Royal Marine Regulars do 32 weeks of full-time training, so I joined the Reserves, which allowed me to keep on working. Reserves have to fit in training after work, at weekends and they have to do week-long courses. That’s in addition to maintaining your fitness on your own, so it is definitely full on!

Mne Deith at a Brazilian Jiu Jitsu class.
Marine Deith at a Brazilian Jiu Jitsu class.

“Although it was a massive commitment, I actually found it easier to manage my time because I had to be really organised. I woke up early before work to revise for exams then, after work when my friends were deciding which pub to go to, I had to train.

“Weekends consisted of yomping: walking with 30–40 kilos on your back for up to eight hours, with very little sleep. You often get dunked in a river at 1am in December before sleeping (for about an hour) outside. A particular highlight was taking part in a live firing section attack scenario, using night vision goggles, infrared flares and machine guns. It’s a humbling experience; on a Monday morning you are just grateful to sit in a warm office with a coffee!

“My advice would be, take every opportunity with both hands and ask questions, because everyone is willing to give you their time.”

— Marine Deith

Mne Deith taking part in the final Commando test in Dartmoor.
Marine Deith taking part in the final Commando test in Dartmoor.

Reserves Day 2021 demonstrates the important role that all of our Reservists carry out around the globe, and their continued hard work to keep the UK safe both at home and abroad 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.

Find out where the UK Armed Forces are deployed here:👇

--

--

Ministry of Defence
Voices Of The Armed Forces

DefenceHQ is the official corporate news channel of the UK Ministry of Defence.