COVID-19 New Norms in Urbanism & Design: Q&A with Jackson Chabot

Urban Design Committee
Voices of Urban Design
8 min readMay 28, 2020

Consultant at Project for Public Spaces

Jackson Chabot is a Consultant at Project for Public Spaces- a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping people create and sustain public spaces that build strong communities. He is currently researching case studies for Healthy Places and holds a Masters degree in Urban Placemaking and Management from Pratt Institute, and a BA in International Relations from Boston University.

The APA Urban Design Committee is conducting a series of conversations with urbanists who are thinking about the future of Urbanism and Design in the age of COVID-19. Through interviews and personal anecdotes, member Charlie Cunningham is committed to documenting thoughts from prominent Urban Designers on planning amidst the new normal. If you are interested in sharing your thoughts and experiences, please message on Linkedin and share socially with your network.

Abstract:

As Urban Designers we have a unique lens on our environment as we become acquainted with this new normal. The daily increase in COVID-19 numbers can be sobering at times, but there have been many positive showings of civil support, reductions in emissions and CO2 air quality measurements, and online camaraderie during this time of crisis. Our daily routines as New Yorkers have been uprooted; planted firmly in our homes we are seeding new connections through devices for work & play.

Charlie: How long have you been practicing self quarantine, isolation, social distancing, or shelter in place?

Jackson: I have been working from home since March 11th, and I moved apartments right about that date so perhaps more appropriately, I have been sheltering in place since the middle of March.

Charlie: What was the transition period like for you and your work, friends, family?

Jackson: The first two weeks of transitioning to working from home were really quite challenging, both mentally and physically. Everything changed so quickly. I really enjoy observing and participating in New York City street life and it was tough having that taken away so quickly. In that moment in time, I think creating a new routine, adapting to constantly being in a small space, and the weather being up and down were contributing factors. Since I emerged from that depression, I have reflected on everything and what role I will serve in the coming month.

Charlie: How has the pandemic affected your work and daily routine?

Jackson: I think the pandemic work from home experience has reinforced several things. Most importantly, strong interpersonal communication with co-workers and continuing to develop trust and open communication. Personally, I think this experience accentuates the need to be honest with myself about when I need a break. For example, I typically only go out once a week, for groceries but I do try to go for a little walk, a run, or bike ride each day, especially as the weather has gotten warmer.

Charlie: What differences have you noticed in the immediate urban fabric of your neighborhood, city, or quarantine zone?

Jackson: As I mentioned before, I moved in the middle of March and this time of being at home and settling in has given me the time and space to take in my new surroundings. One of my favorite things to do is to watch the street from my second story apartment as Jane Jacobs might have done. I take in the patterns such as the older gentleman who takes walks twice a day, the people collecting cans to recycle, and my neighbors sitting together on their stoops. I am always in observation mode so the urban design issues are hyper accentuated as well. I notice how, because of the road width cars can speed down the street I live on and how a vehicle can easily pass when another is double parked. When I go for a run, I notice where a lack of trees planted completely changes the character of the street. I am constantly reminded, walking and biking around Bedford-Stuyvesant, of police sitting outside of the public housing, the oppressive surveillance which comes with this tactic, and the discrepancies in the application of social distancing enforcement.

Charlie: As an Urban Design practitioner, what changes to the built or physical environment should become part of the planning and design thought process after COVID-19?

Jackson: I think this moment in time should cause all Urban Design practitioners to reflect on the inequities in the built environment. Jay Pitter, who has a phenomenal article that “argues for an equity-based understanding of urban density”, recently reiterated in a panel that “design is not neutral.”

Considering that design is not neutral, we need structural systemic changes such as increased funding for and equitable distribution of funding for parks and public policy that center human’s lived experience. These changes need to be process focused and, from the outset, these changes should begin by asking people about their values, what they want to see changed in their communities, and must also include capacity building. The process for implementation should follow the Tactical Urbanism and Lighter, Quicker, Cheaper methodologies by testing an idea, asking people what they think, and iterating.

Yes, we need a combination of physical changes — narrowing streets, reallocating space to pedestrians and cyclists, and policy changes such as permanent Open Streets but the process is just as important as the results.

Charlie: As difficult as it may be, has isolation or social distancing had any unexpected benefits?

Jackson: Working from home has provided me the space and time to cook all of my own meals and exercise more frequently. I feel really fortunate to have that ability and they have been two of the things that have helped me remain centered since I began working from home. I have doubled my purpose of running and biking by making it a goal to have a different public space as a destination to try and get a sense of how people are using them. One of the interesting outcomes has been comparing and contrasting (open) parks to (closed) playgrounds. I’ve found that some of the playgrounds are nearly as park like as the parks with some combination of open space, tree canopy, and places to sit. The image below is a screenshot of Carver Playground which has tremendous tree canopy and benches with enough room for visitors to be safely physically distanced.

Charlie: Have you participated in any new routines, invented creative forms of socially distant contact, supported neighbors, or other urbanist community efforts while in isolation?

Jackson: About the end of March, with several of my friends and classmates from Pratt Institute, we launched a virtual Placemaking Forum where we host roundtable discussions twice a month to encourage peer learning and exchange. I love it because we get to push what Placemaking means and how it is applied. In our most recent session, “Placemaking in the Era of Smart Cities” I was struck by how much the group kept coming back to humans which makes me hopeful that we can use technology as a tool rather than the tool. I have also been going on long(ish) bike rides. So far I have biked to Coney Island, Roosevelt Island, and up to Central Park.

Charlie: Are there specific ways you have focused on staying positive throughout this temporary new reality?

Jackson: Throughout this, the main way I have stayed positive is through helping others. I try to apply the quote “do what you can, with what you have, where you are” because there is always more I feel like can do.

Since I moved to the neighborhood three years ago, I have been helping out on weekends at the Bushwick City Farm. The Farm serves as a “welcoming community space and provides free food, clothing, and educational programs for the community.”

For me it is a place that helps me feel more connected to, and a part of the neighborhood. Early in the pandemic, rigorous procedures were put into place to have everyone wash hands upon entry and wear a mask and gloves. As a result, the Farm has continued to operate. This is critical to ensure all the crops are seeded and planted so they will be ready to harvest and distribute during the summer. The location has also become a food distribution point for Club A, a Brooklyn Mutual Aid group which distributes food, clothing, masks, and other products every Saturday afternoon. The video is from Mid-May, on a day when additional food was donated by the World Central Kitchen. The second, was when I received my stimulus check in early May. I decided to use part of it to make small donations to several organizations that I feel are doing front line work, advocating, or creating more equitable public space. Inclusive Action for the City, the Brooklyn Public Library, Make the Road, Gather New Haven, New Yorkers for Parks, and Center for Court Innovation.

Charlie: What haven’t we asked, and what would your answer be?

Jackson: What makes you hopeful?

I am hopeful for what comes next because I see a lot of individuals coming together to support each other and challenging the status quo. I hope we can work towards creating a more equitably designed and funded society.

About the Author

Charlie Cunningham is a dedicated urbanist and Project Manager at the firm EA Creative in New York City, focusing on the intersection of Urban Design, Architecture, and Technology at the human level. You can follow more of his photos, stories, and current fieldwork on Instagram and Twitter @charlieprima.

Voices of Urban Design is a discussion forum that is curated by the APA New York Metro Chapter’s Urban Design Committee. Posts are edited for clarity and length only; opinions and statements that appear in this blog are not endorsed by the American Planning Association nor its affiliates. We expect and encourage healthy debate!

--

--

Urban Design Committee
Voices of Urban Design

The Urban Design Committee is one of 12 committees of the APA-NY Metro Chapter.