Lavar Ball: Idiot Or Genius?

There is no inbetween. You either hate him, or love him. Hate him all you want, but do to his ways, there is no bigger name in the sports world right now.

Clay Francis
Void Sports
3 min readJul 15, 2017

--

What better way to get your name out in the real world than announcing that you could beat Michael Jordan in a game of one-on-one.

Marketing genius or idiot?

Stating that Lonzo Ball is a better player than former NBA MVP Stephen Curry.

Marketing genius or idiot?

Telling the media that Lonzo will only play for the Lakers.

Genius or idiot?

Trying to workout a deal with Nike to sign his kids to a billion dollars.

Marketing genius or idiot?

Creating a new video game based off of his sons.

I’m just kidding. I would not be surprised if Lavar did this though. But let’s just break these statements down from a fundamental standpoint:

  1. “Back in my heyday, I would kill Michael Jordan in one-on-one.”

This is a statement that you would hear coming out of Skip Bayless’s mouth. I am not sure if Skip could actually say anything more idiotic.

My Verdict: Idiotic

2. “I’ll tell you right now, Lonzo is better than Stephen Curry to me.”

Lavar probably thinks that Lonzo is a better rapper than Kendrick.

My Verdict: Idiotic

3. “My son will only play for the Lakers.”

This statement really makes me think. What would have happened if the 76ers took Lonzo first. I think Lavar would be content with that. He would love bragging about Lonzo being the #1 pick in the draft. If Lavar did not say this I would still predict that the Lakers would take Lonzo, but the fact that he said that really ensured me that whatever Lavar says, happens.

My Verdict: Genius

4. “A billion dollars, it has to be there. That’s our number, a billion, straight out of the gate.”

Lavar saying this really makes you think about how valuable the Ball family is. Nike would not only be taking the Ball brothers for their performance but also for their publicity. 99.9% of what comes out of the Ball family’s mouth makes it on ESPN. With the way that ESPN is so far up Lebron’s ass, we all have to hope and pray that Lonzo won’t be the same case.

My Verdict: Genius

Lavar has definitely had some bad moments. Watching Lonzo get outplayed by De’Arron Fox. Proclaiming that Lonzo will be the rookie of the year then witnessing Lonzo go 2–15 in his first summer league game. Luckily for Lavar, Lonzo has backed up that performance with three straight solid outings.

Lavar only says these idiotic statements to bring publicity to the family. As Clay Travis says, “there’s no such thing as bad publicity, any publicity is good publicity.” Liangelo and Lamelo may never be near as good as Lonzo is, or will be, but Lavar has put them on the path to creating a legacy for their family.

Final Verdict: Genius

As the great Lavar Ball says “There’s only two dudes better than me, and I’m both of ‘em.”

--

--

Clay Francis
Void Sports

Editor for @MainlandSports & Writer for @TheTowelRackWKU