The Forgotten Girl Inside

Regitze Ladekarl
.:voluble.me
Published in
1 min readSep 25, 2018

Use True Colors by Cyndi Lauper to lure her out

Credit: scholty1970 on Pixabay

She peeks out from behind the door. She looks no more than six or seven years old. Her eyes are blue. She is barefoot. Her dress once-rose dress is shabby. The music must have caught her attention. Or the laughter. I signal it is safe for her to come out and join. She shakes her head in a storm of wild copper-red curls. I smile and try again. Still a no. I leave her be to watch the dance. I will not force her. This is how far she has come in more than 30 years.

Regitze Ladekarl has re-emerged as a raconteur after a long, successful career elsewhere. She crafts universal tales from everyday lives with an honest, sharp and witty pen. Besides working on a forthcoming novel, she flexes her voice with personal essays, flash fiction, and method writing here on Medium.

Subscribe to her newsletter here and you will never miss a good story.

Thank you!

--

--

Regitze Ladekarl
.:voluble.me

Regitze Ladekarl crafts universal tales from everyday lives with an honest and sharp pen.