Volume (UP): #19

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)
Published in
3 min readFeb 18, 2021

“YOLO”

My ( and some of y’alls ) situation last Sunday

TL:DR: Here is the playlist on Apple Music, Spotify, Deezer and YouTube Music.

S: Hey guys, so valentines has come and gone and we didn’t die choking on “god whens”. Personally, it’s an irony I was hopelessly single after a month of listening to lover boy music. Anyhow sha, 2021 is our year. On to the music ;

T: I wonder when people will realize they have just one try at this life stuff. You’ll never know what you’re great at if you don’t try things, even if it’s on a small scale. I know artists sitting on stuff because they’re worried about criticism. I’d be more worried if no one was interacting with my creation.

You have people showing they care to the point that they’re talking about your work even though to you, some of that attention comes off as negative. Anything made by human beings can be improved on. That’s how I personally I approach this life stuff. I don’t think perfection is possible with anything man-made. You’re releasing this thing for the world to consume. And that comes with criticism. You take it, get back in the lab and keep cooking.

Now it’s not every critique you should take in. Haters exist. You should be discerning enough to know what sounds like advice that actually helps. Most artists aren’t naturally talented in arranging noise into something listenable. They are learning & improving as they go. But that only happens when they release whatever they have.

It’s one of the reasons why Seyi and I started this playlist. Someone people are actually trying & making great stuff but they don’t have the machine behind them. And to those people, for now this is best way I can show my appreciation for your effort.

S: I am always glad when Tobi waxes poetic. Radio is literally about this whole “big machine” phenomenon forcing whatever they feel down our throats and how the artistes interact with it. I am quite a fan of Sylvan Esso by the way. I love the playful and experimental energy they bring to their music. It feels truly original.

Better Off should have been more adventurous, I really wish Kendrick sang the last hook with her. Idris Elba is really “Turn up Charlie”. Kiss … sorry Kizz Daniel trying new sounds is quite delightful too. Happy is one for the lovelies that did away with their exes, especially if they were alone for valentines, no worry you go dey alright.

As an aside, I would like to mention that when I said sick leave last issue, I downplayed the seriousness of the illness. Apparently, mild covid may leave its sufferer with a weakened immune system, which opens the door to a host of illnesses. I know this because it happened to me. In few words, I barely survived the barrage of infections. From a victim to the rest of y’all, try your best to not get Covid.

On a lighter note, Thank you for reading, listening and sharing (guilt trip 😘). Till next time, stay safe and have a great life.

P.S: You can and should subscribe to our newsletter at the bottom of this “story”. Don’t forget to follow our twitter and interact with it. ❤️

--

--

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)

Bot| Struggling Crypto Bro | Budding Storyteller