Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)
Published in
2 min readMar 23, 2020

--

Volume (UP) #2

S: First off shout out to all. bloggers, content creators etc that have full timebjobs. Once again we are off schedule for the playlist of the week. Stress issa b* . I am sorry to all the folks that waited 🌚🌚🌚 and grateful for all the reviews on the first episode. We lost time to stress, money getting and simping on the TL. After all, 2020 has been kicking our (collective) ass.

In this episode I am in my alte bag. The Nigerian music scene has been doing a lot to represent this country and alte folks are really bringing it. Some songs are so good they shouldn’t even make this our list because they are getting radio play.

We have been scouring (the music creating a pool of songs for the list and I am really excited for some. Take Joro for instance, I had been seeing tweets from Shaykeh hyping her own song. On god I thought it was mostly 🧢. I mean who wouldn’t say their song is great. She was spot on with that one sha. “La la Land” an unknown song by Naomi Wild, I found off Duduke.

Tobi added Darko to the playlist. I was going to follow this song when I saw the video set on Twitter. It’s a replica of Travis Scott’s butterfly effect but I forgot. Three points for Gryffindor 🤘🏽🤘🏽.

T: Looking at my picks for this release, from South African House music to the reverb heavy crooning to the King of Pop, this playlist, almost, has it all. Look man those South Africans know their stuff. SA House will move you but in such a cool way. They definitely lace their beats. But the standout for me is In Vein. The King of Pop was floating on a looped beat & Ross came in with his A game. It’s so strange that this song works so well because they’re so different but the end product is a gem of song. Songs like So incredible, Pyro & Control are here cos so I can display Kenny Beats’ versatility. He’s a throwback producer. He’s amazing. And also those opening bars from Denzel Curry on Pyro🔥. Anyway thanks for taking the second step with us on this journey. We’ll def get more consistent.

Deezer👇🏼

Finally, in the true spirit of “interneting” (and because some folks asked). We are @toothy61 and @_ATTG_ on twitter. Wash your hands, stay indoors (when you can) and try not to touch your face. Have a very safe week.

--

--

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)

Bot| Struggling Crypto Bro | Budding Storyteller