Volume (UP): #25

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readJul 6, 2021
SOTU

Skip the yarns and add this episode’s playlist (Spotify, Apple, Deezer). Alternatively add the biweekly updated list (Spotify, Apple, Deezer, Youtube Music).

S: Lol! E done tey.

We first of all apologize for leaving y’all hanging. To be frank, I think we should figure out a way to just give y’all the playlist without the gist. After all, we don’t know if you read it. Besides we are always curating music for y’all.

Anywho, today I want to focus on two songs only, “Late at night” and “Monalisa”.

I love “Late at night” so much. Thugs singing softies always slaps hard. I can already hear this song eating dance floors up. Hell ! I am looking forward to it.

Monalisa” for me is special for me for two reasons. It’s a career maker. That is, I think it’s that song that provides a platform for the artist to begin his journey into the deep end. I really think he (Lojay) can go anywhere from here.

Secondly, I think it’s a pointer to how great SARZ is as an artist. Remember that his album SINYM ? Yeah, that nigga was spitting. I am sure he will excel at artist development.

Anyways, I thoroughly grateful for his work and we would love to you to please remember that SINYM.

T: So this year, I’ve tweaked the way I pick songs by picking songs from producers, beat makers & DJs I really fw. Those 3 obviously have the ear & with the madness SARZ & Lojay did, I think I’ll stick with that approach for a while. So that explains my first pick, Jabole. DJ Spinall’s ear is one of the best around. This man doesn’t miss!

Now the older I get, songs like Satin PSICODELIC just do it for me. It reminds me of songs my Dad played most Saturday evenings. Pure instrumentation & vibes. Mr. Colón knew what he doing. VanJess & KAYWHT understood the assignment too on 11:30. They were glorious on Recap so I wonder why RCA haven’t pressed the button yet. They making slappers back to back. They could be so huge!

Vince gave an interview recently where he said SAINt JHN told him: “Your music’s good, but no one cares.” Kind of harsh but it’s solid advice. I completely understand it.

Before streaming, whenever my laptop crashed, I noticed I didn’t try to get all my songs back. I only went for the songs I cared about. So to me that’s great advice. I think those words came from personal experience with SAINt. He’d been making songs since 2010. Took a break when it looked like it wasn’t going anywhere until Roses blew up. So he clearly knows what he’s saying. He saw it happen in real-time.

So I’m never selling Vince Staples stock. Summertime ’06 is a cult classic which showed he has the talent for rapping activities. I still believe he’ll figure it out.

Like Seyi said, it’s been a while. I had personal issues to sort out but I’m back! So thanks for joining us for another episode. We’ll try to be more consistent.

--

--

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)

Bot| Struggling Crypto Bro | Budding Storyteller