Volume (UP): #26

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readAug 5, 2021

Today’s episode will be filled with a lot of fan boy singing. Skip the yarns and add this episode’s playlist (Spotify, Apple, Deezer). Alternatively add the biweekly updated list (Spotify, Apple, Deezer, Youtube Music).

S: My section starts off with Diplo. I think despite how big he is he is quite underrated because of how he modeled his career and image. any way he has a few new songs I really like and I think you should have them.

Next up and best up is “if you say” by Obongjaya. Sarz once again is head and shoulders above the pack with this song. If you need a four song EP, to boost your career, selll a kidney, rob a bank and pay SARZ his money. I would really love a world ( of magic btw) where we can get a remix with The Weekend. I can totally hear his voice on this song.

Victony is back. After surviving a horrendous ordeal, a hellish wreck of an accident, he is back with “pray”. I like the song. I haven’t decided why I do but I think its a good song.

Finally on my list is Zoe. This one was my favorite from last week and it has nothing to do with the bias that the “musicians” attend my church. I have a hard time listening to contemporary christian music generally. Besides the obvious bands, I think there is a lot of quality assurance missing in that niche of the music industry and I love how Celebration Church is addressing the issue. Releases from CCI and CCI affiliates have gotten so much better over the years. I really believe this is a world class sogn

T: Syd is back baby! Fast Cars is real “I love you so much I want to drown in you” music. It’s nothing but respect from me for her effort to try different sounds. I really liked Birthday with Disclosure too. She needs to keep going!

Tanerélle is special. Pay very close attention to her cos there’s something unique going on there. That’s all I’ll say.

Now, for me, Mastekraft up is there with Sarz as one of the few producers who can drop a 45 min set of back to back, undeniable slappers. He’s insane. Seriously what he did with Tomi Owó’s Beautiful is stupendous stuff. South Africa gave us a gift & we’re really making the most of it.

Musically, I think California is like a country. Like it’s very hard to find 3–4 artists with the same approach to making music even though they’re in the same state. That variation affects the rappers too. Rap from the west coast tends to be so cinematic, from the beats to the stories they tell. When one place can produce two distinct rappers such as Vince Staples & Baby Keem, you know shit is different over there. Sundown Town & Rockstar P are my picks from both respectively.

It’s still early days but I really like Wat U Sed from Isaiah Rashad’s new album, The House Is Burning. Doechii snatched that song from that man. I love rap verses that sound like the artist is just enjoying themselves. Reminds me of what Amaarae did on body count. She got her opportunity & took it.

--

--

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)

Bot| Struggling Crypto Bro | Budding Storyteller