Volume (UP): #27

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readSep 30, 2021
why are you shouting ???

Today’s episode is a piss poor excuse for being a no show interspersed with crude jokes. Skip the yarns and add this episode (Spotify, Apple, Deezer). Alternatively add the biweekly updated list (Spotify, Apple, Deezer, Youtube Music).

S: Its been a while. No !!! I shan’t be apologising because we weren’t thoroughly missed. I haven’t really been listening to any new music you haven’t heard. Same fire mids by two of the most successful male performers. And for what its worth, we have had new material on every release day we missed. Its just that, our newsletter tracks artists that will blow up and songs that the charts would buss it open for, we continuously will be stuck between (seemingly) underrating rising artistes (a’la Tems, CKay) and serving you “Somebody’s Son” on a Monday knowingly everyone will be on it by Thursday.

Anyways, now we seem to be back, here are my recent favourites. Wavy the Creator has a new mix… *cough* EP out. Thanks too streaming, EPs are the new mixtape. I like it particularly because LMBSKN did a lot of work on it. Laime has been doing a lot of good work for the past year. His just released EP 🙄 is really fun to listen to. Wellsfargo is really interesting to me. I havent been this excited to It reminds me in a lot of ways of Burna Boy’s second mixtape. I hope it does for him what that did for Burna. Also on the EP is Azanti. I am not an avid listener yet but I like “Time Difference”. I really wish I could relate to the sentiment on the song. Sadly I have no foreign lovers.

Side note: If you cannot gather Japa funds focus on foreign lovers. So they can save your life from ******. Odds say you will be sharing them with Todd from accounting but beggars can’t be choosers.

Down south, as Nigerians obsession with Amapiano wanes, the founders of the sound are making really interesting stuff again. “Abalele” is music you sing, dance and cry to about your partner while holding tight to a stranger at 2 am in a club in Lekki. Its really good. “Cant Live without” will also work for this scenario if you are a cheating husband preparing the customary begging skit you will have to perform on the weekend.

My final offering is a relatively old song that slaps harder than bathroom slippers thrown by a Nigerian mother. “Raise a sound” is another super special song by Nosa. Its a masters work and thoroughly good music. It has been in my heavy rotation for a really long time and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. If you don’t, this is for you.

This year, we shan’t be doing anything Nigerian related because we have decided to make this playlist a place of fun joy and escape from exchange rates and other stories. I hope you enjoy these songs as much as I have. I am always grateful for your audience. Do have a nice day and I beg you share the playlists and article with your friends. I need someone to hire me to write for $$$. My employer most likely is your friend. HELP ME 🙏🏼.

--

--

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)

Bot| Struggling Crypto Bro | Budding Storyteller