Volume (UP): #28

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readOct 25, 2021
Your face having consumed all this heat!!!

Today’s episode was tee’d up for Thursday but was delayed to allow me put a cherry on top. Skip the yarns and add this episode (Spotify, Apple, Deezer). Alternatively add the biweekly updated list (Spotify, Apple, Deezer, Youtube Music).

S: Hello everyone. How is it going ? It’s been a relatively tame month (in Nigeria) considering the significance of this month in Nigeria’s modern history. Last year on the 20th of this month Nigerian security forces committed state sanctioned murders around Nigerian “metropolitan” cities as response to the demands of youthful protesters calling for an end to police brutality. There are clips of these acts of impunity and wanton violence on the internet. We wouldn’t bring that here, because we have decided to make this a joy spot. So off to the tracks of the day.

Earlier this month Juls released an album at long last. His new offering is a hell of a listen. Its quite the trip around Africa. I personally recommend it. My pick would be Say you love Me. It’s a thoroughly well made song.

Tolani, has continued to get better at making music. Thanks (but no thanks ) to Yoruba boys that keep showing her pepper. On Fire on the Mountain she reminds the world of how interesting and thrilling the Yoruba man experience is. It’s the perfect sequel to “Badman” from yesteryear. I really want the best for her; like in her personal life but with music like this being the result of these; “encounters” bruh …. I wish her all the best.

Yoruba men are top tier, I highly recommend*.

Don Toliver also has an album out. Off this album, I like how he and Kali Uchis merge so perfectly on Drugs and Hella Melodies. Sounds like something you would need on the Yoruba boy quest if I digress.

Mama was already good as it was when it was made. Somehow, Da Capo found an interesting way to represent it. Its a great dance by yourself (or with nice Yoruba boys) tune. I think you would like it. Not in the mood will really blow up. Its just here so i can stat pad and say I called it.

As an extra I have added in “Without You” by Sun-El Musician. It’s currently in my heavy rotation. It’s a really good song. Well made and all’a’dat.

Finally, last week this clip went viral (viral! Viral!!) on twitter. There was conversation about how it was just music and dancing, how she was really having fun with the music, and how much Nigerians could learn from their “strictly turnup” culture. I love the clip because I am glad for how much she has blown up . A few months ago I heard about her from a friend that ascribed her high praise. He wasn’t lying. For context, Young Stunna, the fellow on the song, was describing how this viral explosion would happen for him. Also, I am glad the song which was unreleased at the time is out now. It’s one of those moments where Social media does a really good thing for all the parties involved.

Thank you again for listening. No thank you for not sharing and/or sending in feedback. Have a great week.

*PS: I wouldn’t be responsible for the character building roller coaster it will be when you embark on the Yoruba boy journey.

--

--

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)

Bot| Struggling Crypto Bro | Budding Storyteller