Volume (UP): #30

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)
Published in
3 min readJan 26, 2022
Amawele

Skip the yarns about enjoyment and Amapiano and get to the music on (Spotify, Apple, Deezer). Alternatively add the updated list (Spotify, Apple, Deezer, Youtube Music). Literally, click on your platform to begin 😭😭 and be sure to tell your friends about us.

The holidays are finally over and it (back to) work for most of us. Personally, between Covid near misses and work, I didn’t get much of a break during the holiday season. Still, it’s been one of my best Christmas/New Year Holidays yet. I was blessed enough to spend it with some of my favorite people on the planet and when I did get to take time off, I got to do some really legendary stuff. So, this episode is dedicated to all the songs that made my holidays.

DJing is an underrated profession. An average DJ should be able to forecast where music is going and what songs would hit. I have been exploring DJ culture and I must say, there isn’t any other sticky way to get your music widespread. Sticky here because social media can export your music but will anyone be listening when the challenge dancing stops?

I got to see performances of songs in both of these categories and I must say “there is nothing like a hit song”.

This segue way is to quantify what is happening with Amapiano around the world. Between the unnatural work and output rate and healthy army of touring DJs, I think it will be the most influential dance music in the near future. I would really want to bet this summer but time and chance.

*coughs* Afrobeat beware.

I also think “The Man” can tell for sure now how big this genre will be and is moving to “monetize” Amapiano and it worries me because, Ama is still in its early phases, if they don’t learn to modestly make money without adulterating the music to sound more “global” (like that garish Nigerian imitation “Omopiano”), Amapiano wouldn’t be cool after this year.
This is why Major League Djz was the most surprising (re)discovery during the holidays. They had been touring Africa, making great music and ala’dat but didn’t really grab my attention till I saw them live. They are incredible performers and masters at their craft. I also think they have a clear picture of how best to take “Ama to the world”. 2000 is so special because IMO a song like this shouldn’t exist or slap so hard. Wes7ar reminds us of how beautiful Yoruba as a language is.

Osama” is another special I heard from a Dj’s set. This song is pure good vibes and a crowd Controller. I hear it translates to prophecies of prosperity and success.

At the end of the day, I hope you have had a good time reading/listening to Volume UP. I hope it’s worth the time and your friends get to know about it😉. Have a nice day and see you around.

--

--

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)

Bot| Struggling Crypto Bro | Budding Storyteller