Volume (UP): #31

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readMar 10, 2022

“The kids are all grown up”‍⃠

Skip the yarns and get to the music on (Spotify, Apple, Deezer). Alternatively add the updated list (Spotify, Apple, Deezer, Youtube Music). Click on your platform to begin 😭😭 and be sure to tell your friends about us.

The past two weeks *coughs m̶o̶n̶t̶h̶ has been eventful for music. We got some much-awaited albums from some of our faves and really the music slapped. There is just so much joy going around, except on Twitter, where everyone is a Ph.D. in Child care and Family Organization. It’s is clear that only a few of us had Valentine's last month.

Anywho, my pick of the week is off Asa’s album. On her latest V, Asa puts on a new whole new look. There is a taste for everyone and the songs are genuinely good. it’s a solid 9. “Show Me off” is as close to public romance as I would ever get. You can catch me blaring this song, (and most of the album) hoping that my crush would overhear it and …😭. If you know Asa, tell her I would love to ride shotgun on her motorcycle 😉. For what it’s worth, I have fuel for 3.

Tayo is another happy album that has kept me company. It’s from late last year but I was slow getting to it. Tayo is a grower and got better on each new listen for me. It’s all amapiano and an easy listen at worst. At best, it's crack. My current fave is Selema.

There is currently, this back to folk music drive going on with the Yoruba folk. I am here for it sha.

To the elephant in the room, while the “Cartitians” are having problems fitting all of him down their salivating throats, I have mixed feelings. My first listen was quite a struggle. On the one hand, the mix was intentionally jarring, there were a lot of “set the pace” (filler) songs. On the other hand, I can tell (now)he made most of those songs for live performances and I know on each listen it will get nicer and nicer. I feel it will be one of those albums that will keep giving the internet “discoveries” a la Tiktok far into the future. I know the album would have been nicer on me if I have no financial worries and obligations but It is what is. Regardless, I am proud of Santi’s bravery in making a concept album as a Nigerian.

If you made it this far reading, color me surprised. Thank you for your eyes and ears. I am fascinated by your attention and I hope it was worth your while. Have a great day, and enjoy the music.

*Cartitian: A wearer of black baggy T-shirts spruced with decals that swear by anything that involves Playboi Carti.

--

--

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)

Bot| Struggling Crypto Bro | Budding Storyteller