Volume (UP): #32

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readMay 5, 2022

“Trading Cards”

Skip the yarns and add this episode’s playlist (Spotify, Apple, Deezer). Alternatively add the biweekly updated list (Spotify, Apple, Deezer, Youtube Music).

It’s been probably a month. I clearly have lost sense of time, probably as a result of feeling an overwhelming sense of urgency. I listen to new music nowadays far and between. It seems 30+ is fighting hard to collect my soul. I digress.

This week, I have a bunch of songs that I have sat with for a hot minute, and (learned to) love.

I wonder if music label execs look at their counterparts in sports, green with envy, and go, “I really wish we had a transfer window”. I believe that any artist that has had up to two out in the world played on radio songs can continuously operate at that level and probably make hit songs in their career if they are traded to other managers.

Top on my mind is Terri. He recently released an EP filled with stuff I will consider fire mids. I would argue that his Management probably feels the same way. I think he would blossom if he were handed to Mr. Eazi or Don Jazzy. Mr. Eazi has continuously taken “almost alte” artists to the top of the charts and other markets when Nigerians get tired of their flavor of music. I think these songs on the EP would slap in that Joeboy fanbase but would struggle to stick to the average Nigerian. The songwriting is (slightly) above the Nigerian average and he is being really experimental, qualities that many Nigerian listeners would struggle to appreciate. Don Jazzy, on the other hand, will force us to continuously hear the music and we know repetition begets love. I would be delighted to see him win sha.

Majid is a relatively new guy. “New” because I just found out about him. The world needs more lover boys. So I like it.

Abo Mvelo has been in my rotation for weeks now. I found it, pre-release in some Twitter baddies media and kept playing the leaked and bootleg versions till it Gott released. I think it’s a party starter. Here is evidence, to support my claims.

Zerubbabel is a really cool drill song that, get this, is Christian. It surprised me by a mile. I put it at the bottom since you folks are hell-bent 😉 on hating Jesus.

Swedish House Mafia is back. RIP to party set (goers) in Ibiza.

Thank you again for reading/listening. Tell your friends about me.

--

--

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)

Bot| Struggling Crypto Bro | Budding Storyteller