Volume (UP): #38

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)
Published in
4 min readAug 24, 2023

Skip the yarns and get to the music on (Spotify, Apple, Deezer). Alternatively add the updated list (Spotify, Apple, Deezer, Youtube Music). Click on your platform to begin 😭😭 and be sure to tell your friends about us.

“Hello guys welcome back to my YouTube channel”

S: It's been a while since Volume UP. A lot has been going on. He who must not be named released the album of the year, the world listened to and dumped GMO Travis’ album and Nigeria continues to tend to zero. Through all these tragedies, I have been harassed repeatedly to write.

Over the past week our gorilla guy, went about rabble-rousing, hoping to get us to pay attention to his upcoming project. Personally, I think that project will stink (more like hope). What did he say? Stuff along the lines of “African music has no substance”, “it's always a GREAT TIME”, “the music doesn’t mirror the artist's life” and, “afrobeat or what do they call it”. While this is an obvious “agenda take” for marketing purposes and a subtle jab at that community cock guy, I think it’s annoying and dangerous, to say silly things like that to pander to Americans, because at the top of this conversation, it sounds true, but a few layers in, the statements are both lies and self-contradictory. So, I call BS. It's gravely dishonest to say things like that considering the quality of music currently sitting on the charts. FFS, the most recent viral trenches song is about the prevailing influence of ‘yahoo” culture on Southern Nigeria**. Listening to that music gives context to the hopes and aspirations of a random youth from that city. Mr. Eazi’s “any money wey I get”, also aspirational, points to the current lack of purchasing power and the direct effects it has on our spending habits. Asake, and Adekunle Gold bend themselves over backward to make meaningful lyrics which IMO is sometimes detrimental to the song. There is always emotion however subtle, always a melancholic tinge to most of the biggest hits, and our king of introspection and philosophy does not seem to see how the music isn’t always happy and a great time. *sigh

I have struggled to extend grace to this particular artist because I mostly can relate to him in that we are from the same city and time period, and my argument for this fellow, who consistently unleashes and promotes needless violence while preaching against oppression and injustice, were usually along the lines of, “that’s how PH people are”. I avoided the hypocrisy and fake deep rhetoric you would find taking a random sample of young men’s conversations from that place. To his credit, this was a brilliant move in subbing his opp and causing quite a steer that will translate to anticipation for his next work. However, we must address the elephant in the room. You cannot claim to care for African empowerment and social advancement and disappear during your country’s most important election*. You cannot claim to be deep and introspective and fail to see through the Nigerian’s dilemma of speaking to their struggles without reminding listeners about their dystopian reality. I think the emperor has new clothes. While it was convenient for me to “allow it”, it has been obvious that the quality of his music (not performances oh) has been on a downward trend. I hope he proves me wrong with the new project he is twerking for. I hope it isn’t ass like the last one. I am open to being dragged if he does.

My selection of music today is mostly stuff I heard from faves, some randoms, and in passing over the last 2–4 months. At the top of the list is an already blown song Ogaranya, by Ag Baby. I think that song is both a “vibe” and a prayer. IMO he finally found the thing I felt “Party don’t stop” was missing.

Ring Ring makes the list because it was the single that whet my appetite for Trav’s poorly cooked copycat tape full of loosies.

Ke Shy? I love Tyla and how she glides on this song with my faves. Gabzy and R&B are like water bottles and gym baddies. I really liked this Hear me out song.

T: Writing down my thoughts about music is funny to me. I personally don’t think words can ever truly describe a great experience. Maybe I need to expand my vocabulary. Anyway, Shawn Stockman’s Your Garden is really impressive music activities. Besides this song, he has other great songs in his discography.

On My Mama is what you get when music is mixed well. There’s no doubt about Victoria’s ability to make songs. She’s written some of your faves greatest hits so I’m all for her eating off her work directly.

Snoh’s Be My Summer is the one. She’s got an album coming and Be My Summer is the best single from it.

I am quite excited, feels like we are back. Or? I guess we will find out next time. Till then, stay safe, eat fruit, go outside, feel the sun, touch grass, and take time to enjoy life.

--

--

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)

Bot| Struggling Crypto Bro | Budding Storyteller