Volume (UP) #6

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)
Published in
3 min readMay 11, 2020
This guy had the big idea

“Two heads are better than one”

S: Poverty of my beloved country has forced her government to lift its 6 week lockdown. Effectively, we have been thrown into the corona hailstorm with rickety umbrellas. Inside Life.

On this note, I am fielding mids with my whole chest because I feel strongly about a couple of these artist trajectories and I love “Trumpet”. I am biased and shameless. Thankfully, I have a sane and prideful partner. Now that my disclaimer is out of the way let’s get into the picks of this week.

Terri, (resident protege of Wizkid’s Starboy) released his (debut) EP. I picked track 1 because “trumpet”. Davina made conscious pop and I like it. Seated is the future of Nigerian Jesus music. I saw Dami perform it at the “Tiny Desk”. I (among others) bullied him to release this on Apple Music. Claim to fame !!!. You are welcome. Alina Baraz did a song with Nas on her latest work, it tastes nostalgic. You should check out Sixlack on her album too. Straight Fuego. Finally in my battle of mids, comes Astrid with “favorite part of me”.

Now that my bias is out of the way, let’s talk about my most important pick “Talk about me”. In this song Skott affirms how she will be in the near future. I am confident and can’t wait to say “I told you so” . Close behind is “This Sh*t” by Aylo ( the sex singer) and LMBSKN a producer most of you know as Skwierd. Marshmello also has a song out this month, with Halsey. YIKES!!! Sincerely, I hope you like this week. I want these songs to grow on you. I think that’s the only way we will get you see the best of my artist picks. Thank you so much for listening, tell your friends about this, play it on the aux , so your friends will ask. Stay safe and have a delightful week. Truly, I love y’all.

T: Look man you need to study the Greats and Janet Jackson is one of them. This woman is a force of nature. There aren’t a lot of great Pop albums but this woman has two. The Velvet Rope and Rhythm Nation 1814. Got ’Til It’s Gone is now my favorite song right now because of how calm it is. She was floating on it. That song put me in a Boom Bap mood so I followed it up with Bahamadia’s Uknowhowwedu. Look they didn’t lie when they called the 90’s “The Golden Era” of rap. Ali Gatie’s Moonlight is saying it’s ok to confess that you love that woman, so I sent that text lol. Let’s see if he was right. Tom Tripp is another nice one too. I first heard about him on a Mura Masa song. Kept up with him & this Glow song is really good. Tupac is an underrated Wande song so I decided to run it back.

These were the songs that stood out for me this week. Thanks for taking the 6th step with us. Have a great week ✌🏾

PS: We added YouTube Music and Audiomack to our platforms list. The more the merrier init ? Lastly, check out Dvsn’s “ A muse in her Feelings”, it’s not here because we think y’all already did that.

Deezer

Spotify

Youtube Music

AudioMack

--

--

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)

Bot| Struggling Crypto Bro | Budding Storyteller