Volume (UP) #7

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)
Published in
2 min readMay 26, 2020

“The stories we tell ourselves about ourselves”

T: With previous playlists, I like to talk about all the songs & the artists behind them. But I just want to talk about Tanerélle, this week. Her songs really move my spirit.

Look, there are very few people whose aesthetic truly match their music. Modern R&B is plagued by a tempo problem, IMO. Like there are songs I hear & I feel a slower tempo would have done its content justice. The mood most of these songs are going for would have been achieved if the tempo was dropped a little bit. Tanerélle understands this.

Nothing Without You is so beautiful. Whatever she wanted the listener to feel, I felt it. It blows my mind that music of this quality, is coming from an independent. It takes a lot of work to get singers, like her (people who like to slow it down & “whisper”), to sound this good. Her music sounds like something you get from a label artist with a serious A&R department. I followed the work that went into making Snoh Aalegra the songstress she is today. It was a long journey she took with the legendary No I.D. So to see an independent like Tanerélle make songs like this… man, there’s something special going on here & I’m strapped in for her journey.

Anyway, the songs picked this week are all slippers, to me. Thank you for taking another step with us. Enjoy!

S: Eid Mubarak !!! Its a holiday today and these are my picks from the past fortnight. Odunsi gave us an EP that snatched our wigs. Male members of the fan club apparently have wigs. I wear one with my chest sha. The last four songs are magic but “Body count” is the most surprising. I am not quite decided on Wurld’s Ep, Wayo is a “jumper” I think it has strong growth potential. Julz is now a house musician. Man wears many caps.

Mayowa is the most interesting and remarkable song I have heard in a long while. I think it’s a really great start for the musician and an interesting chapter in Nigerian music. Finally, just for the sake of pandering, I pick Gargajiya because its a freaking holiday and this is prime beef.

Stay safe and have a delightful week. Truly, I love y’all.

Spotify

Apple Music

Deezer

YouTube Music

Audiomack

--

--

Seyi Oladele
Volume (Up)

Bot| Struggling Crypto Bro | Budding Storyteller