Noble Kava — Boone, North Carolina

Kava — Part 1 of 2

Brenna Grey Mickey
Volunteering in Vanuatu
3 min readJan 27, 2016

--

Vanuatu is known as the unofficial home of kava. Kava, if you’re unfamiliar like I was, it’s a shrub-like plant whose roots, when prepared properly, can be made into a drink that alters your mood. Kava culture is prominent in some Pacific Islands, sharing similarities but each island tends to have its own tradition or custom in kava consumption. In Vanuatu, kava is commonly consumed in nakamals. Kava is primarily consumed to relax without disrupting mental clarity and in some cultures used during spiritual or political ceremonies.

During my research of Vanuatu, kava is mentioned a lot. After one of my many Google frenzies, I came across Noble Kava, a kava bar in Boone and Asheville, North Carolina. I couldn’t think of a better way to dip my toe into the kava culture stateside than by taking a road trip with my mom and aunt to Boone to try it out.

After visiting some Boone staples (the Mast General Store and Daniel Boone Inn) we made Noble Kava our final stop before heading home. Walking in we were greeted by a sign on the door that stated “All consumption of kava is at one's own risk as it is not FDA approved. Must be 18 years old to consume.” Considering a lot of things that are FDA approved that frighten me, I didn’t really feel too concerned and quite frankly we didn’t drive all the way up here for nothing.

Walking in was reminiscent of going to a hookah bar, low key lightening, covered windows, vape smoke filling the room. We had a very helpful and knowledgable manager sit down with us and explain the history of kava and what we were in for. They actually purchase the kava directly from Vanuatu and were very mindful in decorating the space like actual nakamals in Vanuatu. We were given our round of kava on the house which was also a nice touch.

I can’t wait to embrace this aspect of culture because this is one of those things that I’ve only heard about through books like Getting Stoned with Savages. Apparently, there was a Dr.Phil episode last week titled “My Wife is Addicted to Kava.” See what I mean about wanting to learn about these things for myself and not taking anything in American media as a true reflection of other countries. Anyways, this was my first of hopefully many kava experiences.

These thoughts and pictures are mine and in no way reflect the views or opinions of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

--

--

Brenna Grey Mickey
Volunteering in Vanuatu

senior product designer, basketball coach, 2x @peacecorps alum, tiny dog mom, brennamickey.com