From the Marketing Team to the Tech team

Juliette Momboisse
Voodoo Engineering
Published in
2 min readMar 13, 2023

I came to Voodoo three years ago to work in the Marketing team. A few months ago, I became a product manager in the tech team.

Switching from the Marketing team to the tech team as a Product Manager was like learning a different language. I remember my first meeting about Machine Learning. I had absolutely no idea of what was going on in the room. “Loops”, “Airflow” did not mean a thing to me. I remember that the first time I heard the name “Python”, I briefly thought “is this job going to involve snakes?”

As I was a real tech noob, I decided to take a class of code where I learnt the basics of Python and SQL. It enabled me to better understand how coding was working.

What I found helpful is that the tech team really took time to teach me about tech elements I did not know.

At the same time, the tech team was also really eager to learn about User Acquisition to improve our product. So on my side I also tried to do learning hours on how ROAS campaigns were working for instance.

In the end, I think this dynamic of knowledge sharing helps us, as a team, to have closer ties with our users, the UA managers.

There is now a willingness in the team to explain more technical aspects to non tech people. For instance, our tech people did a presentation about how our models work to different UA teams so that they can better handle our product.

A positive sign of our closer collaboration with the UA managers is that our product NPS really increased at the end of Q3. This story really shows how different people with different backgrounds can collaborate together and achieve excellence in their work.

If you would like to join us, you can apply directly as a Senior Product Manager at Wizz (Consumer Apps team at Voodoo), they are actively looking to strengthen their team!

--

--