VB17 short-view: Lauri Apple

Voxxed Days Belgrade
Voxxed Days Belgrade 2017.
2 min readSep 18, 2017

1/ What did you want to be when you grew up?

A lawyer-journalist-psychologist. I went to law school but didn’t practice; worked as a journalist for several years; and as an agile producer often feel like a psychologist. So I guess I unlocked the achievement by 70%.

2/ What is your spirit animal and why?

This is cheesy, but probably a butterfly because I do a lot of context-switching and like to keep my work and social circles pretty interdisciplinary.

3/ Who is your tech hero?

I have several: Kelsey Hightower, Susan Fowler, Heather Miller, Steve Francia, Danese Cooper, Jez Humble, my Zalando colleagues Mikio Braun and Henning Jacobs. Generally I gravitate toward anyone who has had to overcome economic or other obstacles to enter or remain in this industry, or who has become a vocal advocate. I also will never stop being grateful for the opportunity to work with Michael Bryzek, the co-founder of Gilt Groupe, who demonstrates more than anyone I know how someone can be next-level brilliant while remaining humble and open to feedback.

4/ Why should people come to your talk at VDB17? Give us a punch line :)

I will help you restore sanity to your GitHub organizations.

--

--

Voxxed Days Belgrade
Voxxed Days Belgrade 2017.

Brought to you by @Heap_space | Tech conference | 19 - 20 October 2017 Belexpocenter | Tickets: http://bit.ly/VDB17Tickets