Batched Books Reviews: Intro

Voytek Pituła
VP of Books
Published in
1 min readApr 17, 2023

Welcome to Batched Book Reviews, your source for very short, very subjective, very authentic, and very unprofessional book reviews.

Let me explain the formula. But first, a few words about me: I’m busy, lazy, and I read a lot (>100 titles this year). I’m a Staff Software Engineer, and I read about Software Development, Leadership, Management, Self-Development, as well as general non-fiction, Fantasy, and some Sci-Fi.

Here is the formula:

  • Reviews are delivered in batches. I post about 4–8 books every two weeks or so. This minimizes noise on your side and effort on my side.
  • Each review contains a link to Audible. I have no affiliation with them, but I “read” almost exclusively through audiobooks and almost exclusively there.
  • Each review has a four-grade rating, from Strongly Recommended to Strongly Not Recommended.
  • Each review gets a couple of sentences that can contain some of the following: what the book is about, why I (dis)liked it, why it might be worth reading, how it made me feel, and how it connected with my life.

I will also be posting an “Archive” series containing reviews I wrote before starting this publication. Those might be slightly different but follow a similar idea.

That’s it. Enjoy.

--

--

Voytek Pituła
VP of Books

Generalist. An absolute expert in faking expertise. Claimant to the title of The Laziest Person in Existence. Staff Engineer @ SwissBorg.