How to make an Augmented Reality App

Colby Gallagher
5 min readMay 2, 2018

If you feel like this story was useful or informative and think others should see it too, make sure you hit the ‘clap’ button.

I’m a final year Civil Engineering/Business student at the University of Newcastle, Australia. Throughout my degree I haven’t used any form of augmented reality (AR) or virtual reality (VR) technology, despite people saying it’s going to have a huge impact on the world. I understand though, as there is so much other content to cover specifically related to engineering. So much maths. Maths all the time.

In the past few months while completing my final year, I’ve gone from knowing nothing about AR/VR, to developing my first Android app and putting it in the Play Store. I’ve done this without spending any money and without much experience in coding or app development (I have developed a couple of small Android apps but never put anything on the Play Store).

This step by step guide will teach you how to get started building AR applications for Android. This is the…

--

--

Colby Gallagher

I'm a structural engineer based in Sydney, Australia with a passion for immersive technologies such as VR and AR.