Resources for Beginning Graphics Programming

Laura Reznikov
VRtigo
Published in
6 min readMar 19, 2017

--

I am frequently asked where to begin learning graphics programming and what resources I recommend. Without the guidance of a college course, it may be a bit daunting to figure out where to start. I am still looking for a good online course for this material, but if I have the time, I may make my own. Until then, this is a compilation of my favorite graphics programming resources. I will follow up this post with separate lists for 3D software resources and VR resources.

Beginner

The following three books are all good general computer graphics programming textbooks. It is pretty common to see any one of these books used as the textbook for college graphics courses. If you feel like you could use some extra help with the math of these books, I recommend supplementing one of these with the math book I mention below.

--

--