Infinite Loop.

A poem for the men & women who feel trapped.

--

Photo by Oladimeji Ajegbile on Unsplash

The clock runs unchallenged,
Each tick reminds me of the time I lost.
A vented cabin, a glass screen,
A modern man sits gaping towards the vast windows.

There are possibilities always,
To be king and ministers to rule the world.
Here the modern ape,
Slave to the System, Sugar, and insecure tears.

The clock struck Five,
All the fragile bodies rushed for the transport.
I stayed back and walked,
I didn’t want the comfort of Cushions and ease.

I walked three miles,
Saw a cobbler, an artist, and a beggar.
All were alike, all mundane,
Twisting and rotating like the same clock in my hand.

I came home past dusk,
Drew the light out and slid still in my IKEA furniture.
I saw everything there,
Branded Electronics, Clothes, and even Food, so unoriginal.

That night I slept well,
The fate of the lamb to the final slaughter was accepted.
I woke free that day,
Left my suit in and went out on a Thursday, to break the infinite loop.

The poem is about a person who struggles with the monotonicity of life. He wants to escape his routine life and go out and grasp the world. Hope you like it.

Here are some other poems that might interest you.

--

--

Purushottam Banerjee
Vulnerable Humans

Software Engineer| Film enthusiast| Story Teller || Wants to make the world better.