Being Good Enough at a Skill.

Not a self-help article.

Purushottam Banerjee
Vulnerable Humans
4 min readMar 19, 2021

--

Photo by Kemal Kozbaev on Unsplash

Disclaimer: This will be short and not filled with some inspirational downpour.

I have always dreamt of building something unique and creative in life.

The process of being behind a creative workforce has always attracted me.

On the surface, It looks a lot fancy to add the title of an artist or cinematographer or Sound-designer. But soon I learned it takes a lot of work and skill to create something.

For that skills to be acquired there is very steep learning to it.

Right?

And for those who haven’t opened up an editor or DAW(Digital Audio workstation) or Adobe Premiere(Video Editor) in life. It is an utter nightmare at first glance.

Photo by KAL VISUALS on Unsplash

And to overcome this I had come up with a gameplan.

Learning with purpose.

Learning for the sake of learning.

Not for mastery.

10,000 hrs Vs 20 hrs

In the book Outliners, Malcolm Gladwell talks about the time to master any skill such as playing the violin, you will need an average of 10k hours of practice.

Gladwell talks more about being an Outlier. It means you are somebody that marches to your own rhythm.

It is the base of the 10,000 hours rule.

To become exceptional at something, you will need to hone your skills a lot.

But what about being just enough?

Just Good and not a master.

It takes approximately 20 Hours to become fairly skilled at a task.

In The First 20 Hours, Josh Kaufman offers a systematic approach to rapid skill acquisition.

It may sound crazy at first to know that from beginner to being fairly good at something. The time span is very marginal.

This takes me to the learning curve of any skill.

https://first20hours.com/

In a very short amount of time, you can pick up a lot of new skills. Adjusting to your need of time.

For example, if I am an artist who needs to open up an online store. I can learn basic web development and WordPress to set it up. Will I be a full-stack developer after that?

No.

But I would have got enough exposure to get my work done.

Intentional Learning.

When starting out, the most difficult part of learning is put in the effort to sit down, concentrate and do the work.

With the number of distractions available right now, it is very easy to procrastinate.

Hence, It becomes essential that we have some kind of progress and a vision in mind.

Let me explain.

If you ask me to become the next David Guetta, most probably I will never become that. But I can practice myself in a short span to create a soundtrack for my youtube videos.

And that is an adequate skill adhering to your goals.

Learning must complement what you aspire to create. Else you won’t be fueled to progress.

Conclusion

We all are capable of a lot more than we can imagine. And the human brain has a capacity of a sponge to intake data.

Remember this rule only applies to someone like me who is learning for the sake of getting the job done.

To be at a level of Picasso’s, you need to dedicate those 10,000 hours as a bare minimum. And still, there is a big chance you want to be a master still.

Becoming the utter best in your field takes a lifetime. For me, that will be storytelling. The rest are just tools that uplift the Story I want to tell.

Efficiency is a key term when our time on this ball of dust is limited.

Being wise and lasering effort onto things that matter the most is of top priority.

If I had to boil down everything to small para.

Rapid Skill Aquisition is one way to aquire multiple skill at a small time, which allows you be a good at many things but not a pro. It justs helps to get the job done!!

--

--

Purushottam Banerjee
Vulnerable Humans

Software Engineer| Film enthusiast| Story Teller || Wants to make the world better.