FILM I COMEDY

I Used to Like Seth Rogen, I Think

An essay about Seth Rogen and his latest film ‘An American Pickle’

Akos Peterbencze
Vulnerable Man
Published in
4 min readAug 9, 2020

--

Photo: Warner Bros

I like Seth Rogen. He is a funny dude. Well, actually, let me rephrase that: I used to like Seth Rogen. I mean, I think once I convinced myself that I liked him.

All I’m trying to say is that his new comedy on HBO Max, An American Pickle, is not funny. It’s simple, silly, and often sore like a muscle strain.

What happened to that Seth Rogen, I wonder.

But hold on, I re-watched The 40-year-old Virgin not too long ago, and he was a confident and likable ass in it. What happened to that Seth Rogen, I wonder. He had a weird beard, dry humor, and swore a lot super casually. His “I-don’t-give-a-shit” attitude was charming.

In his defense, at least I can say that he didn’t write or direct this film, which is a plus. I still believe that he can be funny. You know, like Superbad funny. Which is not excellent, but it’s certainly better than a Jew from 1938 with an awkward accent.

An American Pickle’s plot would’ve made a mediocre comedy in the late ’80s that nobody would remember, apart from Seth Rogen and his bunch. You’ve got to be brave to make such an imbecile film today. He must…

--

--

Akos Peterbencze
Vulnerable Man

Freelance Grinder. Staff writer at Looper. Contributor: Paste Magazine and more. SUBSTACK: https://thescreen.substack.com/