STAND-UP COMEDY

Jim Jefferies is Intolerantly Hilarious and Brutally Honest in His Latest Stand-Up Special

The most offensive Aussie comic is back.

Akos Peterbencze
Vulnerable Man
Published in
4 min readJul 31, 2020

--

Photo: Netflix

Ever since his career took off, Jim has been called a misogynist, a racist, a sexist, a homophobe, an alcoholic, a cocaine addict, and of course, an asshole from Australia.

I just call him my favorite stand-up comedian.

He is a foul-mouthed, raunchy, hardcore atheist. And I enjoy listening to foul-mouthed atheists saying dirty jokes because it’s a blast. In today’s entertainment industry, stand-up comedy remained the only art form where comedians can still be brutally honest. Of course, there’ll always be consequences for joking about delicate subjects, which sometimes will hit close to career-destroying moments, but on stage, they still have some kind of freedom. It’s up to them how they want to use it.

“You know why I stopped drinking so much is because I cracked open a beer, and my son, he was five at the time, he looked up at me, and he went, “Daddy, are you drinking again?”” — Jim Jefferies

--

--

Akos Peterbencze
Vulnerable Man

Freelance Grinder. Staff writer at Looper. Contributor: Paste Magazine and more. SUBSTACK: https://thescreen.substack.com/