FILM I LIST

The 10 Best Movies of 2020 That Got Me Through the Apocalypse

Masks save lives — films do, too.

Akos Peterbencze
Vulnerable Man
Published in
6 min readJan 9, 2021

--

Photo: Netflix

Last year, I watched 188 movies. The pandemic and several lockdowns played a significant role in reaching that number. It was actually the other way around: films and television shows helped me cope with a global and deadly virus behind closed doors.

When anxiety, paranoia, and stress kick in, pop culture becomes my savior. If you read me and this publication for a while, you already know that. Cinema, just like writing, heals the soul. Stories always give and never take.

So, here is my list of films from 2020 that helped me to distract myself and maintain my mental health.

The Platform (El Hoyo)

I’ll start with Netflix’s Spanish horror. Man is the cruelest animal, obvio. But, if you didn’t know or forgot that, The Platform (and 2020) was an excellent reminder.

The Platform portrays a vertical prison in which there are different levels with prisoners. The higher you are, the more food you get. It’s just like our hierarchy. But, if you take away social status and money, people will literally kill each other for food.

--

--

Akos Peterbencze
Vulnerable Man

Freelance Grinder. TV Freak. Film lover. Regular contributor at Paste Magazine. SUBSTACK: https://thescreen.substack.com/