Why Did Dave Chappelle Quit His Show And Walk Away From $50 Million?

“This show is ruining my life”

Ryan Fan
Vulnerable Man

--

Photo of Dave Chappelle — from John Bauld on Wikipedia Commons

Stand-up comedian Dave Chappelle is described as a lot of things these days and has recently become a controversial public figure and a bit of pariah in the past couple of years. He has been labeled a transphobe, but Dave Chappelle is an international celebrity and well-known across the world.

As a kid, I remember seeing the Chappelle’s Show all over Comedy Central. I didn’t watch it at first, but I always remember seeing it before or after I wanted to see South Park, and I never appreciated the hot-button topics it offered commentary for until Dave Chappelle made a comeback in 2013 as a stand-up comedian. I personally have been a big fan of some of Chappelle’s Netflix specials, which push boundaries on very controversial issues in an age of extreme sensitivity and a “walking on eggshells” feeling.

Chappelle’s Show was a hit. According to Mike Bedard at Looper, before the third season of the show, Comedy Central offered him $50 million to keep the show going.

But Dave Chappelle walked away, moved to South Africa, and faded into obscurity for almost a decade.

It’s not like Dave Chappelle died, but he left Chappelle’s Show in 2006, and did not resurface to the fame in the public…

--

--

Ryan Fan
Vulnerable Man

Believer, Baltimore City IEP Chair, and 2:39 marathon runner. Diehard fan of “The Wire.” Support me by becoming a Medium member: https://bit.ly/39Cybb8