Unpopular Psychology Principle Reveals How to Consistently Walk in True Happiness

Or how to catch a fish with your bare hands

Vytautas Ratkevičius
Vytas Writes

--

Achieving happiness can seem as impossible as catching a fish with your bare hands. You’re hungry, desperate and unsuccessful. If you finally manage to touch the fish by performing an impressive Jackie Chan move, it swims away leaving you with nothing but a hand full of frustration.

I’ve been urging my hand into the water for many years. Swinging back and forth from feeling discontent to sensing satisfaction was normal. I couldn’t explain why one month seemed joyful like biking downhill but another unbearable like cycling in the sand dunes.

It lasted until I had the eureka moment. As I sat down to write this story, I discovered that recent psychology studies encountered the same principle: true and lasting happiness comes not by chasing but by sharing it.

Fluctuating Happiness Is a Never-Ending Trap

Most people don’t realize but there are two types of happiness, not one: fluctuating and authentic-durable happiness. Although one of them is a shameless scammer ripping people off and coming back for more.

In my few years as a student, I remember one week with bitterness. It was a…

--

--

Vytautas Ratkevičius
Vytas Writes

Digital writer aiming to inspire and empower you to live more puposeful life.