Cheese, Please! Go Here for Authentic Raclette in NYC

Suma Reddy
Waddle
Published in
2 min readJul 21, 2016

I had my doubts on how legit a raclette could be if made outside of Switzerland, especially after a few recent let downs around NYC (for the record, one glop of melted cheese on a plate is NOT true raclette). But I figured a restaurant named “Raclette” was the best chance I had at getting the most authentic melty cheese this American city had to offer… And I was right.

Cheeeeesy (Photo: Raclette )

Just look at that expertly scraped cheese descending upon an ample sampling of the proper accoutrements! To top it off I brought along a white wine that I’d been saving since I was in Hermance, a tiny estate-turned-village outside of Geneva, two years back. (So, yes, Raclette is BYOB!) It was sweet and mellow and enhanced the terroir of the meal.

I’ll have a bite (Photo: Raclette)

Here’s the only info I could find on the vineyard, it being so eency weency. We bought this bottle from one of the owners by stopping in at dinner time, following the owner to her basement and handing her cash in exchange for a few young bottles.

If you want true raclette, this is your best bet (if you can’t make it to Chalet Suisse in Geneva, of course.) So thank you Raclette, you gave me a true taste of Switzerland!

Cuteness. (Photo: Raclette )

For more info on raclette, read this article by David Lebovitz.

Here’s where to find the best raclette in the city

Raclette
195 Ave A
East Village, Alphabet City

Originally posted on The World According to Cheese

Photo Credits: Raclette Facebook

Anna Ward

Expanding horizons one cheese at a time. The World According to Cheese

THANKS FOR READING :)

Waddle is a growing community of foodies, bloggers, and writers suggesting and sharing experiences of memorable places. Become a contributor! >> email us

Cheese-lover? >> click to tweet

--

--