My Joy, My Sanctuary, My Truth: United Citizens Brigade

Suma Reddy
Waddle
Published in
3 min readJan 31, 2017

Uncovering connection, humility, empathy, truth and pain at UCB

Multiple times a week, for the last four years, I have eagerly descended a set of stairs with fellow revelers into a dimly lit, tiny basement comedy theatre called Upright Citizens Brigade (UCB). It is, in fact, the steadiest relationship with a sanctuary I’ve ever had.

In comedy, without fail, I lose myself and I find God. Every day is Sunday. Every laugh is an amen.

(Photo: If You Build It, Matteo Lane, Kara Klenk & John Early. Photo by Mindy Tucker)

(Photo: If You Build It, Matteo Lane, Kara Klenk & John Early. Photo by Mindy Tucker)

The communal recognition of truth, binding us to others in that recognition, is our homily. The fun house mirror provokes humility, as we examine ourselves and nod along to the hum of flaws on display. That humility paves the way for empathy, which mobilizes us to vulnerability and more connection.

In the middle of it all, we are asked to brazenly stare at the nakedness of our own souls.

(Photo: United Citizens Brigade)

(Photo: United Citizens Brigade)

But in that very moment, we are rescued with a chorus of laughter. We are not alone. In place of a cross necklace, my totem is a whimsical phone cover: a tiny llama wearing a red party hat, tucked in a giant purple pocket.

It reminds me: joy is a form of defiance.

giphy-1

When I leave a show, I feel returned to both my community and myself. I didn’t even know I had been missing. It feels like slipping into water, weightlessness and ease overwhelming me. I need the facilitation of truth, connection, humility, empathy, and the brazen exploration of pain.

As we walk back up the stairs, releasing like a river overflowing onto the banks, I am grateful for both the gathering and the scattering. The rootedness and irreverence are lead in my feet, grounding me and driving me with a lighthearted twinkle in my eye.

I am ready for another day.

(Photo: "Ready..." by Lucas)

(Photo: “Ready…” by Lucas)

UCB Chelsea
307 W 26th St
b/t 8th Ave & 9th Ave
Chelsea

UCB East
153 East 3rd St
b/t Avenue B & Avenue A
East Village, Alphabet City

This is Tiffany Firebaugh’s first Waddle story.

--

--