Sam Hodges, Product Designer at Waitrose & Partners
Sam Hodges, Product Designer at Waitrose & Partners

Day in the life of… Sam Hodges, Product Designer

Sam Hodges provides a glimpse into the life of a Product Designer at Waitrose & Partners Digital

--

focused on delivering some exciting new features in our mobile applications

So what do you do all day at work?
I work as a Product Designer in a cross-functional scrum team currently focused on delivering some exciting new features in our mobile applications. Most days you will probably find me on Zoom!

What are the people like?
Waitrose Partners really care about their business and in my experience, it’s a very supportive and nurturing place to work. At a scrum level, I work with some really dedicated, smart, and creative people. This always pushes me to do a bit better.

I enjoy working in a role that is a blend of problem solving and creativity

And the best bits are?
I enjoy working in a role that is a blend of problem solving and creativity. Recently I’ve been lucky enough to work on a completely new project which means we’ve had a blank canvas to work from and have had the freedom to create something entirely new for our customers. I can’t wait to see it out in the wild.

Waitrose & Partners UX workflows
We create UX workflows as part of the Product Design process

You work at Waitrose… so what’s your favourite dish?
The Vegan Mushroom & Nut Wellington is really good if you’re looking for a meat-free Sunday roast option.

What do you get up to when you’re not working?
I’m into my cycling and compete as an amateur at road races throughout the year. I spend about 13 hours a week training on the bike so that takes up most of my time outside of work!

Be open-minded and learn from others

What advice would you give to any budding Product Designer?
Be open-minded and learn from others. Stay up to date with the design industry and keep your creative mind sharp by working on personal or side projects!

--

--