A Quick Tip to Overcome Your Procrastination

MartinRaymondo
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
1 min readMay 29, 2024
Procrastination is a terrible thing — photo created by the author using Copilot

Procrastination is mostly a fear-based response.

Consider when you want to do something you love, like meet a friend for supper.

You would never procrastinate in a situation like that.

If you have to prepare for a work meeting and then speak in front of a group, it could make you freeze with fear, leading to procrastination.

I get that with cold calling for work, so I understand it’s real.

One way you can deal with this is the Mel Robbins way, which counts down from five. It prevents you from getting in your head and encourages fluid motion through action.

There is another bonus action you can do, and I find it works better with me, but you can try both ways and see which works better.

Since procrastination is fear-based, I tell myself I love what I’m about to do.

So, with cold calling, I tell myself every day that I can’t wait to call and how much I love it.

This takes some time to convince yourself, so you must be patient.

It’s a powerful way to improve your procrastination, and you will see improvement with dedication.

--

--