A Writer’s Perspective: Writing Transforms Pain into Power

Tshiamo Seanego
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
3 min readMay 2, 2024

Its a beautiful day to be a writer…..

Photo by Guilherme Stecanella on Unsplash

Have you ever read a story and got goosebumps? Have you ever been moved by a brilliant piece of wordplay? I don’t know about you but some of the stories I read here on Medium are so good and I am too shy to ask the writer for more goodies.

Whenever I read a story that is well written something changes inside of me. If i was in the process of procrastinating i instantly go back to work. If I was in the middle of a bad habit I would change for the better.

Sometimes we need to give credit to the writers who save us from depression, stress and anxieties. Send them flowers, money or anything to appreciate them for the wonderful work they are doing daily. It’s a gesture that will encourage them to keep feeding us with life changing content.

Writing is not something that should be taken for granted. Whether you are writing for yourself or for other people. Whether you are writing for fun or writing to make money. The act of writing should be rated highly and respected. Because writers do more than just sit at a desk and start typing words into their computers. Writing is powerful.

Legendary writers like Shakespeare and Hemmingway might be gone, but we still have incredible writers today who are influential in our lives.

Writing helps me in different ways:

I write to understand what writing really is. The more I write the clearer it becomes as to what writers go through to have their voices heard. Sleepless nights trying to come up with the perfect story.

I write to heal myself. Since I am too broke to afford therapy, I am my own therapist by writing to myself. I unpack the heavy thoughts in my mind by writing.

I write to help other people heal. The world is sad and in a depressive state. As a writer, it is something you can’t simply ignore. You need to give hope to someone out there that everything is going to be alright.

So dear friend writers don’t just write.

A writer goes through a lot to have content ideas. Sometimes we go on long walks hoping for an idea to pop up inside our heads. Sometimes we read a lot of books, articles or biographies hoping to get inspired. It can be a little bit demanding sometimes.

Write for yourself to help others.

Writing is about documenting your personal experiences and sharing them with others. Every battle in life that you have won in life could be motivation to the other person who is reading to keep fighting.

If you share with me how you defeated a great evil, I will love you for that. I will owe you one. You have inspired me. You have given me weapons and tools to go into war.

So going on forward, know that you are not just a writer. You are one of many things that serve a great purpose in the world.

Thanks for reading!! If you enjoyed it, please follow, clap and comment. Don't forget to subscribe to my newsletter. Just right Here.

--

--