Delete That Draft?

Or Save It For Later?

Amethyst Champagne
Wake. Write. Win.

--

Created by me with Adobe Express AI

If you’re anything like me, you probably have many story or article drafts spread out or hanging out in one location.

But sometimes, those incomplete or un-started drafts just sit there for weeks or months until you get around to finishing them.

So, at what point is it time to call it quits on an unfinished and unpublished draft?

When to Delete a Draft

Photo by Gary Chan on Unsplash

While I try to believe every draft has a purpose, sometimes, it’s best to let them go for reasons like:

Too Much Time Has Passed

Occasionally, I have deleted drafts because I waited too long to work on them, making them irrelevant.

Examples would include writing challenges I missed or personal stories I didn’t get around to writing.

It’s No Longer Authentic to You

Sometimes, between the first drafting of a piece and coming back to it, a radical change or shift occurs in your life, and that piece no longer represents who you are.

When to Save That Draft

--

--

Amethyst Champagne
Wake. Write. Win.

I write personal stories, articles, and more in hopes of helping others.