Dollars and Decisions: Can Medium Pay My Bills

It is not as straight-forward as it seems

Krish K
Wake. Write. Win.
2 min readMay 17, 2024

--

Photo by NEOM on Unsplash

Can Medium pay your bills?

Yes, probably!

Can Medium pay my bills?

No, it can’t!

MPP (Medium Partner Program) is yet to be introduced in my country, India.

You will find a lot of Indians on this platform and most of them are not earning from their writings. But still, they continue to write.

When I started on Medium, I didn’t know about the Medium partner program. I was just a reader and then eventually became a writer.

In my case, I am already employed by a reputed organization that pays me well, but what about others?

Well, I know this story will end on a happy note, as Medium has already declared to introduce their partner program here in India.

Still, many of you might be wondering, Why would a person like me choose to write here without earning a single penny?

I am here to shed light on that thought.

Even MPP is not started here, it is still the most sought-after platform to start a journey as a writer, mainly because of 3 major reasons

  1. This is undoubtedly one of the best platforms for genuine readers. The platform is designed in such a beautiful spam-free way.
  2. I don’t need to care for SEO due to Medium’s high domain ranking.
  3. I can write whatever I want to and there is always someone who acknowledges my work.

In addition to this, those who want to start their freelance journey can find inspiration here. Medium has a wide range of writers, from beginners to experienced.

The top writers are earning between $5,000 and $30,000 a month.

These figures are enough to inspire me.

Lastly, Medium can easily help me build a loyal audience base. This will help me in the long term as a writer, undoubtedly.

Final thoughts

Medium readily fulfills the writing philosophy.

Money cannot purchase everything in life, including your passion and peace of mind. But Medium, as a platform, can offer both.

These are enough reasons to keep my journey intact here.

And I am grateful to have discovered a reader like you.

Thank You for reading.

Feel free to clap, respond, and follow.

Have a nice day!

--

--

Krish K
Wake. Write. Win.

Exploring the world of writing l Lifelong learner l In search of meaning of life l Trying hard not to get overwhelmed