Don’t Think Too Much

Akanksha ✨
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
2 min readMay 9, 2024

We often encounter the saying, “Always Think Positive”, and “Be positive” everywhere we go, and I used to frequently read it. However, the constant focus on maintaining positivity left me puzzled about how to achieve it.

I realize that my thoughts most of the time tend to lean more towards the negative side whenever I think .

I used to exert considerable effort to transition my thoughts from negative to positive, but more often than not, I found myself unsuccessful. Apart from moments of imagination, I don’t bother to engage in deep thought when I am in the company of friends or family.

Does positive thinking truly bring happiness? In my experience, it doesn’t. I find myself happiest and most authentic when I am not thinking at all.

I have a loved one who is struggling with mental health issues, and my go-to advice was always “think positive”. Yet, I never suggested to her to stop thinking about anything at all. I used to reassure her that the future would be better and to think positively about the future.

This perspective changed after I read the book “Don’t Believe Everything You Think”. It made me realize the profound impact of this simple concept. When I started applying it to my own life, I noticed significant changes.

Now, I am consciously aware of my thought process and the continuous loop of overthinking. I find myself making a concerted effort to avoid unnecessary rumination. It’s not about suppressing thoughts, but rather about not getting entangled in a cycle of deep contemplation with either positive or negative thoughts.

Happy Reading !

--

--

Akanksha ✨
Wake. Write. Win.

I am Akanksha Gupta. By Profession I am Software Engineer with 6 years of experience in IT Industry. Writing and Sharing is my hobby. Living my life fully :)