Red Riding Hood
Wake. Write. Win.
Published in
3 min readMar 29, 2024

--

A good life?

Photo by name_ gravity on Unsplash

“Earn for need, aim for high and lead a life that’s simple.”

What does it exactly mean by a good life? I wonder about this but I never try to find the answer. Do you know why? You’ll know later.

I am living in a house where I just get to study, eat and sleep. Obviously, the recreational activities are inclusive too. A very boring life, in other words. But suddenly yesterday, I got a call from my native place and my relatives had something important to discuss. My parents decided to go and stay for two days. So, we packed our stuff and departed for our short-term vacation.

As soon as I entered my village home, I got to witness a practically haunted house. As I said to my mother, she burst with laughter. Of course, I would never miss a chance to joke. We didn’t come here for five years or more. So, there was no one to take care of it. But, this place was an emotion. It was like a container full of my childhood memories, a happy past and my kind self.

My mother and my younger sister were eager to see our room’s condition after so long, but my eyes were fixated on the rooftop’s door. Quickly, I took the keys from my mother and opened the door. A wave of fresh air gasped through my ears and blessed my eyes with a sense of relief. It was the same place which filled my heart with nostalgia. A beautiful scenery gifted by mother nature and a soothing mashup of relaxing music, that’s where my heart is.

As soon as I got down after enjoying a good view, a group of children surrounded me and asked me for chocolates. Here, when we visit any place, we have to take sweets and chocolates for people. Sharing is caring. It’s said that when we share food, we share happiness. With chocolates and cookies, all children were content, thanks to my father. My little cousin was solving a Rubik’s cube puzzle near me, and it got me excited. I had always been curious about puzzles. I told him to teach me and he taught me how to solve it. It took me back to the old days, when our teacher used to teach us every little thing in an interesting way and now technology has improved so much that our interactions have been degrading.

After having so much fun, I finally sat to study and a line in my science book got me thinking about the question I was wandering about. The line said, What is the purpose of life? Well, as scientists, we shall not attempt to answer the question.

Likewise, we shouldn’t question life everytime. We shouldn’t ask wh questions. What’s simple, we are just making it complicated by being curious about it and doubting it every second we breathe.

What I mean is, I too think so much, but sometimes we just need to function our brain slowly to give it a rest as we do to our body. If we can learn to be content with simple things, problems will run away by themselves. I know it’s hard to accept, but once you start to accept things the way they are, little things would be a bliss for your turbulent life.

I am not trying to motivate you, but as a friend for life, I would surely suggest you to take life as a friend, not a crush you want to impress. Don’t try to be perfect, just be simple. Consider showing a kind gesture, that would make you more happy. And that’s the answer to my question.

--

--

Red Riding Hood
Wake. Write. Win.

All of this is wonder! You, me and the whole universe. There is so much to it.