Empty Honor

Is It Enough?

Jerome K.
Wake. Write. Win.
3 min readMay 22, 2024

--

If you have read my previous story, it talks about my graduation. You can read it here.

On graduation day, the achievements of students are recognized for their grit and perseverance against all obstacles…

Photo by Tyler Callahan on Unsplash

The Red Carpet

After all the final examinations, the whole graduating batch was ecstatic to not deal with anymore school work. All that was left is the graduation ceremony practices.

We had a day of practices just for the graduation rites (it’s the part where the graduates take their diploma and throw their caps).

As we practiced getting our diplomas and walking down the red carpet, I always felt like a part of me was missing.

Photo by Amir Hosseini on Unsplash

Hearing every achievement called out, I felt that mine was insufficient especially compared to my peers.

On the day of the graduation, I walked down the red carpet with a forced smile as the empty feeling in my stomach continued to haunt me.

Will it Haunt me Forever?

Reflecting on that day, the reason why I felt empty was because I am not WHO I wanted to be.

Specifically, I realized that I did not chase my dreams because I did not BELIEVE in them enough.

Honor begins with a dream.

It’s true that only I can make my dreams a reality. However, what most people including I, tend to neglect is that it all begins in the mind.

Photo by Илья Мельниченко on Unsplash

People tend to have a negative mindset. Aside from the war, famine, and poverty, the world lacks positivity.

They don’t believe that they change the world or that the worst possible scenario will happen.

The world has stopped smiling.

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

People have forgotten how far a simple smile can go.

A little bit of positivity can lift thousands. However as I had discussed, it’s really rare to get it this days (if you have, consider yourself lucky!)

That is why in the this world, we have to obtain positivity from within ourselves. If the mind does not believe 100000% then the dream won’t manifest.

Animal = You

Just like a hungry lion hunting for its next prey. Let yourself be consumed by your goal.

Photo by MARIOLA GROBELSKA on Unsplash

You need to be a little bit crazy about it. You need to REALLY WANT your dream…

You need to CRAVE it.

When you let your dream direct your life. Your body will just automatically act…no more forcing or pushing around.

That’s the Beauty of Believing on who YOU CAN BE

Forward

As I continue my journey to college, I have set my eyes on two targets. As little as they are, they are both fierce animals that I will need to conquer.

What are you Craving?

— Jerome K.

--

--